Expectations are monster, who demolish your life.

in #travel7 years ago

While traveling I always had expectations about things I am going to see. That was a stupid thing to do. I mean, how could I expect to know how unknown had to look?

expectations.JPG

The more time I spent on a road, the better I understood that we miss out on all the beauty and miracles when we come to a new place, knowing what it has to look like. First, things never are the way we imagine. Second, when our delusional expectations are not met, we get sad and frustrated. We cut ourselves from the reality.

Expectations are little monsters, who try to misguide you in your life's journey. And they know how to speak sweet words.

I became a professional of not having expectations by the end of my journey. I realized that it is the only way to open up. Also, when you have expectations, you just cannot see all the miracles. Yes, there are so many little miracles everywhere, but we are too busy thinking about our stuff, so we become blind.

Just check yourself next time you go to a new place. See how you become a little unhappy because some things are not going according to the plan (they never do). And you might end up sitting on the top of the pyramid with world's wisest man, who is telling you the purpose of life... just for you to ignore it all because you expected that stupid pyramid to be a little taller. Do you see where I'm heading?

expectations č.jpg

I understood that all we have to do is chill and live by the moment. And no, all the YOLO stuff doesn't mean you have to ruin your future and waste your youth for stupid things. In contrary, it means that you have to live in the moment and build the momentum so that the future becomes brighter for you and everyone else.

Stop expecting things. Make them happen. Stop wishing for something. Take what's given.

Sort:  

Nice post @writingamigo! I agree with you, and it also reminds me of the issue with preconceived notions that almost never manifest the way you think they are going to.

True, tahnks @cognoscere. Things very rarely work out the way we think, but it is not always for worse. Gotta accept the reality.

.. As soon as you ditch expectation, and start something called appreciation. Your whole life set [for the better]

  • Tony Robbins, in the James Altucher Show

Perfect! I cannot agree more.

Thanks, man! I'm glad you agree!

8 months passed, but nothing really changed! Great stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85