Too Much, Too Fast? Go For A Quick Win!

in #travel7 years ago

QUESTIONS.PNG

I got to thinking about this a little bit more. As I mentioned and you probably noticed, this credit card reward points undertaking can be pretty intense. I mean sometimes it's like learning a new language. There are acronyms that people use that I am still trying to figure out.

Earlier today I was thinking about when I started getting into this around May of last year. I'll be honest. I was scared. Yep, I was terrified. This jacking around with credit cards can get people in serious trouble. As I mentioned, I've been burned. I was thinking of what got me past that. Not to sound cliche, but what got me past that was #winning. When those points hit my account and I knew I didn't have to use that card any more, I breathed a huge sigh of relief. Make no mistake about this. It is work. Well, it is for us.

That is where I think I messed up in my previous posts. I assumed that you were as into this as we are. Not to say that you aren't intrigued, but to say you will start applying for credit cards left and right to go on "free trips" based on what one couple says is asking a lot.

That all being said. I want to list some "quick win" cards. These are cards that aren't as daunting as others I've mentioned. Now these cards will count against 5/24, if you're worried about that sort of thing. However, you might just want to test the waters.

I listed some basic info, but there are other benefits after clicking on the links. We have the IHG and the Arrival+, although we haven't taken advantage of the benefits yet. There are refer-a-friend links we will post from time to time. However, none of the links below are referral links. Our true purpose is to share our experiences in hopes that our past experiences will help you make informed decisions regarding what's best for your and your family. As always, we are open to answer any questions.

For the cards below, I tried to stay away from upfront annual fees. Maybe you aren't interested in flying. Maybe you want to drive to the coast and get a few nights in a hotel. Maybe you want to stay in your locale and get away for a weekend or two. Whatever your interest is, not having to pay for it is pretty fantastic. Just saying...from my experience :)

Please read all terms & conditions on the each website before applying.

  1. IHG Rewards Club Select Card
    https://creditcards.chase.com/a1/ihg/aepdefault
    Hotels (Holiday Inn, Candlewood Suites to name a couple)
    Waived $49 annual fee the first year.
    60k after spending $1000 in first 3 months. Might be able to call to get 80k match once minimum spend is met.

  2. BarclayCard Arrival+
    http://www.findmybarclaycard.com/barclaycard-credit-cards/arrival-plus
    50,000 points (equivalent to $500 credit on statement when purchase is coded as travel) points after spending $3000 in 3 months. Minimum point redemption is $100 at a time.
    $89 Annual Fee waived the first year.

  3. Hilton Honors™ Card from American Express
    https://www.americanexpress.com/us/credit-cards/card/hilton-hhonors/
    80,000 points after spending $2000 in 2 months. Point aren't worth a bunch, but no annual fee for the card.

  4. Starwood Preferred Guest® Credit Card
    Hotels (Sheraton, Westin to name a couple) Can also transfer points to almost any other program.
    https://www.americanexpress.com/us/credit-cards/card/starwood-preferred-guest/
    25,000 Points after spending $3000 in 3 months. 10,000 more Points after spending $2000 in next 6 months.
    Waived $95 annual fee the first year. Offer ends 4/5/17.

  5. Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express
    25,000 Membership Rewards after spending $2000 in 3 months. In February, the bonus was 50,000.
    https://www.americanexpress.com/us/credit-cards/card/premier-rewards-gold/
    Annual Fee $195 waived the first year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57872.51
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25