Airbnb - Home Away From Home?

in #travel7 years ago

So first, let me say that I have never used Airbnb, but it has always intrigued me.

The way I understand it is this:

People, including yourself, can rent out your house...kind of like a vacation home, or you could rent someone else's house as a vacation home. From my understanding, there are rigorous background checks for the renters and the rentees. Airbnb seems to appeal to people that want to truly experience a locale. Maybe staying at a hotel doesn't give them the feel they are looking for. Maybe they want to blend in a little more?

Okay, I don't really know what the motivation people have, but I do know that it is catching on. The appeal value for me just went up today when I read the following article about Barclay Arrival+ points able to be redeemed for Airbnb stays. Depending on the locale, you can stay at someone's house for under $100 a day! Anyway, it's got me thinking...

http://millionmilesecrets.com/2016/10/30/can-i-use-barclaycard-arrival-miles-for-airbnb-stays/

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

I have never used it myself but I see how it is useful for some. Same with things like Uber and Lyft, never had to use them, but I know people who swear by them.

i love the concept . cant wait to try one sometime, they've got some really interesting homes to stay in, like treehouses? lol etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77