Fried Pork - China & Beyond (Stories, Food, and Noise) - Dispatch 001

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Alright. Let's start at the beginning.

The first dish I ordered when I got here, was one of my favorite things I found on my very first time in China. It just so happened to originate in this very province.

November, 2015 :

002.jpg

Guobaorou (锅包肉) - One particularly late night, a few years back in Beijing, Brad M. Seippel brought me out for dinner and suggested this. My eyes glazed over at the first bite, and I was hooked. Guobaorou is similar to your American style "sweet and sour / orange chicken" except with pork, and not super shitty. Think little pork chops, breaded, and covered in sauce. What's great for me, is that this dish actually originated where I am now, Dongbei. Some come with a honey like sauce, some more sweet, sour, spicy. I've barely scratched the surface on any other regional specialties here.

(My...how things have changed since then.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @worldunderground! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44