Brasov - one of the most charming cities in Romania

in #travel7 years ago

Hello everybody.

I am happy to to be back here finally, after 2 months of absence! Many things have happened in the meantime but I hope I will manage to stay a lot more connected from now on.
I thought it would be nice if my first "proper" post here (after the introduction one) is about my own country, Romania. Well, a small part of it to be more precise. I am (re-)discovering it myself and I am falling in love with it more each day. If you have never been to Romania, stay tuned and I will show you why you should change that ;-) . But I might need to also jump into Asia every now and then too...

So, Brasov....

Geographically, Brasov is located almost in the centre of Romania and it is part of Transylvania region.

Only 3 hours by car or by train from Bucharest, the capital city of Romania, Brasov is one of the most visited cities in the country. Situated in Transylvania, it carries an important German influence, which can be easily observed in the architecture style. And of course it also has a German name, Kronstadt.

From pastel coloured houses, to vibrant cobbled streets, old style charm floating around the city to modern shops, cafes and restaurants, Brasov will certainly not disappoint any style of traveller. On top of that, the mountains surrounding the city are adding even more beauty to the scenery.

But let me actually show you what I mean:

Brasov 9.JPG
Brasov 14.JPG!
Brasov 15.JPGBrasov 12.JPGBrasov 13.JPG

The old city centre is a mix of medieval and modern architecture. The houses are colourful and cheery and most of the old centre is pedestrian, making it very pleasant to explore.
The Council Square (Piata Sfatului) is the one of the most beautiful main squares in Romania. The square is dominated by the former City Hall building (now a museum), whose tower was once the watch tower of the city. Around the square there are plenty of bars and restaurants where, in the summer, you can relax and enjoy the view from one of their many terraces.

But one of my favourite buildings in Brasov is The Black Church
Brasov 16.JPG

This used to be my favourite church as a child. I remember sitting inside and listening mesmerised to the organ concerts. I felt like I was transported to another world.

Brasov 18.JPG

Even today, the Black church is one of the top landmarks of the city. Basically, when you say Brasov, you say the Black church. Over time, the church changed not only its role but also its name. Built in a gothic style, it was initially a Roman Catholic church, but nowadays it is one of the most important Lutheran churches in the country. Its initial name, Saint Mary Church, was changed after the big fire in 1689 when it burned down partially. The reconstruction lasted for 100 years, as long as the construction in fact.

But let me just stop here for now and split this post in 2 parts so that I do not take too much of your time at once. So, if I got your interest about Brasov and/or Romania, make sure to come back here to check the second part.

....or go here now : https://www.worldtravelbug.com/Brasov-guide

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57