Ziplines and Waterfalls in Laos

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


A video from our day of adventure

Before me lay the canopy of the Bolaven Plateau. I stood on a small wooden plank attached to a large tree trunk. Beautiful treetops and incredible valley rock face stretched before me for miles. Fog hung in the air and the sound of roaring water echoed through the canyon.

I stepped forward off the platform and flew through the air. Beneath me was a crashing waterfall, around me the foliage dissolved into a green blur. This day took taken a turn for the incredible.

Whoa! I came to a stop at another platform and unhooked myself with a dumb grin on my face, laughing as I watched Cat follow suit.

We flew through the canopy on a few other lines, reveling in the beauty of the jungle - green treetops as far as we could see. Then we repelled down from our treetop platform to the wet terrain below. From here we made our way to our next line through a bamboo forest. From where we stood we thought it would be just another flight through a jungle canopy.

I strapped in, jumped from the platform, and flew through the foggy air. Soon I came to the edge of our bamboo covering. Much to my surprise, beside me was a mammoth cascading waterfall, dropping over the straight rock face the water fanned out into a beautiful mist. I couldn’t help but scream and laugh from pure joy.

Our day continued like this, soaring over incredible jungle views and spectacular waterfall after waterfall. It felt like heaven.

In between many of our ziplines we repelled down and hiked to the next platform. The path was steep, sometimes even straight down, and the terrain wet. We walked beside rushing waters as they tumbled and cascaded down the rocks beside us. Ropes tied into place along side our muddy trail kept us from tumbling down the slope.

After an amazing day of trekking and zip lining we reached the bottom of the valley. Here we had a small lunch and enjoyed an incredible view of the falls we had just ziplined across.

~Sam

Sort:  

WOW.. MAJESTIC!!

To know what I know just spend time in nature, everything is there, nature is self aware

I would love to do that..looks awesome, also nice looking cat. Reading and seeing your travel makes me want to be there with you..keeps safe and enjoy.

I've been in Thailand working for 9 but never been to Laos. I should try that sometime this year. I heard the city is not that spectacular, though.

This is beyond beautiful! A must see! Thank you @worldly

nice post (to be short)

nice view. its cool to try zipline in fog. i love hiking too

wonderful sights, priceless!

Why are you kids not preparing for the rat race and out there enjoying nature having a blast? Seem almost unnatural. Ok I'm just jealous. Well done!

They live a fairy tale life, @justinlaak. That's why.

Great video. Seems like a very fun thing to do.
I think a different soundtrack would male it better though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26