Travel Pro Gear #10: Three Travel Pro Items You Need to be Travel Pro!

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! I'm back with another round of three Travel Pro Items you need to be Travel Pro! This series highlights the things I travel with. These are basically everything I own, so each one is well thought out and very important; important enough to carry all over the world! Now let's see what's needed!

Hair Clippers

This first item has been at times a huge asset and at times a waste of space. The thing is that they only work with US 110 voltage. I didn't realize that when I bought them. I thought I could use an adapter and they would work. So many countries use the same US 110 voltage and others do not. So when I'm in a country that does not like Chile, they are total waste of space.

The reason I carry them to begin with is that I've gotten some horrific haircuts around the world. In Korea they make you look like a Korean with this big wide bowl cut. In Latin America, often it's high and tight. In Laos they'll chop off your bangs and make you look like a monk. That was the worst, which happened last September. It took me months to grow the front of my hair back.

Over the years of bad hair cuts around the world I've learned to cut my own hair. I have it down to a science and cut it just how I want it. I often borrow a broom and pan from the hotel and simply jump in the shower when I'm done to clean up. I'm now considering being really aggressive with giving direction if I get my haircut at a public place and ditching the clippers all together.

My last haircut was in Lima Peru. The woman did a pretty good job, but I was on her like a drill sergent not to screw up. After Laos, never again do I just sit there and be quiet while they butcher me! Maybe I'll get some clippers that are chargeable and can use various outlets. We'll have to see; but for over a decade now I've been more or less cutting my own hair and traveling with hair clippers!

Garlic

Garlic is something I often have with me. I try to eat a clove or two with diner or lunch. It's really good for keeping the girls away! lol Maybe that's why I'm still traveling solo! That's terrible. I should not joke like that; but seriously garlic is a great natural antibiotic. It keeps your stomach bacteria in balance, and it even has a way of getting rid of or lessening your allergies. Eating it raw has the greatest effect. It's also anti-cancer, anti-heart disease, anti-viral, and balances blood sugar.

Soap

If I really started collecting soap from all the hotels I've visit in a year I could probably fill my entire backpack with extra soap and shampoo. However I make sure I always have a few bars and shampoo with me as every once in while you'll be at a place that doesn't supply any.

Right now this is the case. I'm at an AIRBNB rented apartment in Santiago Chile. Sometimes you will have used up what's provided by the hotel and may want to dip into your travel stash instead of ask the reception. Every once in a while the quality of the soap provided is so horrible you're happy to have an alternative. So make sure to save a little soap when a hotel offers more than you need which happens often.

That about does it for this latest round of Travel Pro Items. Until next time! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

This blog would not be possible without the support of.....

@lukestokes @sndbox @gringalicious @eturnerx @slowwalker @gavvet @natureofbeing @flipstar @magicmonk @darthnava @doitvoluntarily @broncnutz @joythewanderer @onealfa @theywillkillyou @heyitshaas @czechglobalhosts @rigoronib @margaretwise @gregbit @hansikhouse @voronoi @janusface @twinner @fitinfun @suerisue @qurator @yankee-statman @luzcypher @phortun @karenmckersie @world5list @chefsteve @offoodandart @k4r1nn @liflorence @cecicastor @intrepidsurfer @oldtimer @makeithappen @schmidthappens @lavater @kommienezuspadt

THANK YOU

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

haha the garlic explanation did make sense. Next thing on the list would be a mouth wash followed by a post soon about a new travel companion :p

Ha ha. We'll have to see how these posts unfold.

Hacks number 1 and 2 absolutely brilliant! :D I have my hair clippers and learnt how to cut my hair myself too! :D However, I usually just go for the 6 mm blade all over my head so there is not much damage I can do this way :D

That's a good strategy Petr. I see you can have the even length hair in your main photo. Took me a little while to give myself a good fade on my own! Thanks for the comments. Have a great day! -Dan

Clippers?
I would not think these would be a priority when traveling. I cut my hair about every 14 days. And it's usually fairly cheap to cut my hair $4 to $7.
Do you carry them for the aesthetic preference of cutting your own hair or for saving money?

I carry them for the aesthetic purpose. But saving money is just a bonus. But I've been butchered one too many times overseas so that is by far the main reason.

Jejeje. I understand your reasons.
I like to keep my hair short and tidy also.

Have a good safe travel, wherever you are.

Don't care how healthy garlic is @world-travel-pro I wouldn't travel around with that in my backpack and I wouldn't let John eat it! 😂

I'm now considering being really aggressive with giving direction if I get my haircut at a public place

This seems the best bet to me regarding the hair cut challenge . . . or just shave it all off! On second thoughts the latter would be a really bad idea in your case, considering your relationship with sun screen, or lack there of! 😁

Haha. I don't see me shaving my head anytime soon!

Hi world-travel-pro,

I would really agree to have a Garlic for sure over other 2 items if I had to chose what item is most important since health is the ultimate.

I eat 2 cloves of garlic every day and I had not had a flu for 2 years.
Stay healthy.

My garlic eating steemit brother. Well said. Nothing more important than one's health.

Hair clippers are great :) I have been cutting my own hair for years now.

It's often the way to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79