Travel Pro Art #6: New Year's Manigotes in Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Three (13 photos)

in #travel7 years ago

Welcome to the final part of my New Year's Manigotes series my steemit friends! Here in Guayaquil Ecuador larger than life size paper mache dolls are all the New Year's rage. They are probably more popular here than anywhere else in the country. They are actually big business.

Having a big fancy Manigote is another way to show off ones success and wealth. Ecuador being a rapidly growing third world country, those with the money enjoy showing that they've made it, by bringing home some incredible pieces of art for the New Year's celebration.

To further show off one's wealth they light them on fire! Well, that's not exactly true; lighting them on fire really is just tradition. That's what they are made for. At midnight everyone burns their manigotes representing a death to the old year and new life to the new year.

Here in Guayaquil they get a little crazy. Not only do they light them on fire they fill them with little sticks of dynamite and other seriously explosive firecrackers. Last night I thought I was in a war zone. Piles of burning life like dolls and explosions were all around.

There was smoke bellowing from every street corner, my ears were ringing, I was getting hit with flaming sparks of debris; tires were being burned in the middle of the street and I even had to take cover behind a lamp post at one point!

Fortunately I caught it all on camera. So don't miss tomorrow's post and you won't believe what you'll see! Until then enjoy these photos and Happy New Year! -Dan "World Travel Pro"

)

Not To be Missed!

World Travel Pro Hits 750 Followers and Turns Full Time Steemit Travel Blogger! A Special Thank You to My Steemit Friends!

Travel Pro Health #8: Wheatgrass, a New Year's Resolution!

Travel Pro Tip #25: Take the Overnight Sleeper Train in Thailand!

Real Life Captured #30: Krabi Town Thailand! Part Two (17 photos)

Real Life Captured #33: Quito Ecuador Part Five (16 photos)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -2.202037 lat -79.887780 long d3scr

Sort:  

hahah it is comon pratice in venezuela too! i like to know that others countries do it too! you took some good photos, thanks for that!

Yes, I'm not surprise. I think this is a latino cultural thing more than an Ecuadorian. Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see you again soon! -Dan

Haha im still waiting to see them set off with fircrackers ! I will be back my friend , sorry but i had company yesterday and I have been very busy posting stuff as the price of steem has been going up ! hope you get a chance to check them out in my blog ! i just upped and commented on three of your posts , loved them all and wishing you the best of luck in 2018 !! 🚀🎉🚀🎉🚀🎉🚀🎉🚀🎉

You are so busy on Steemit. Me too now that I'm trying to make hay while the sunis shining posting three times a day. I basically have put my travels on hold and have been working all day on my blog and socializing, while held up in a hotel here in Guayaquil. Hoping to back log a bunch of post then move o to Peru. Maybe be another couple weeks. As my blog is blowing up and I'm having trouble getting ahead on my work. Thanks for being such a super steemer! Wishing you the best in 2018. Ill go check out your latest now.

Haha that's awesome @world-travel-pro ! I posted a lot yesterday but I need to wait now for some posts to pay out because I don't have anything left to promote my posts with bots . Otherwise it's not worth all the work for only 2.00 Dollars or so. I'm waiting on two later on then I can start posting again Lol Full Speed Ahead My Friend .😊😉👍👍👍🚀🚀🚀🚂🚂🚂

Sounds like you've got yourself a steemit plan. Steem on!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-art-6-new-year-s-manigotes-in-guayaquil-ecuador-part-three-13-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Crazy things are all over the world, imagine using ur own hand to burn what you bought with your hard earned money it's synonyms to burning your money , anyways tradition will always be tradition. And @world-travel-pro, I know it's an adventure for you. Enjoy...

Yes life is one big adventure for me. I feel a similar way. synonymous to burning your money! lol Have a great New Year my friend! Good to see enjoying my blog!

Good take, I want to ask you, is it allowed.

Absolutely. This is one of free's countries in the world. You can get way with robbing, stealing, and murder too here quite easily! lol

do not care about other people, so free ya my friend.

That's a pretty raucous party!

Wait for tomorrow post! Will be like NOTHING you've ever seen.

looks like fun!!

Thanks Statman! Wait for tomorrows post. Will blow your mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51