Travel Pro Adventure #18: Hiking the South Western Coast of San Cristobal Island, Galapagos! Part Five, Animals Big and Small! (18 photos, 2 videos)

in #travel6 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! It's just about 9am and we are already almost three hours into our Travel Pro Adventure on the Island of San Cristobal in the Galapagos. I titled this part five "Animals Big and Small" as in this post we come across some interesting activity by some very small creatures.

During my time on the Galapagos one of the main attractions of the island have been the big animals. They can't be missed. They are quite frankly everywhere and the visitors and locals both love to observe them. The main star must be the Galapagos Sea Lions. Not only are they large and in charge, they are friendly and full of personality.

I spent almost two weeks on the Island of San Cristobal in the Galapagos. During this time I've gotten some great footage and have had an incredible opportunity to practice wild life photography.

To give you an idea, here is a list of the animals I've seen in the wild and was able to photograph: sea lions, Galapagos iguanas, Galapagos tortoise, sea turtles, pelicans, the blue footed booby, frigate birds, swallowed tailed gulls, finch birds, a small species of lizard, snails, and crabs.

In this post we find and film the activity of the smallest animals we are yet to encounter. A lot of the time I felt like I was living in the midst of a zoo! Currently we are a ways up the south western coast of the island on a six hour hike! I really don't know how far away we are from town, but it's fairly slow going over some rough terrain. Now come along and let's see what's out here!

So far this is a nice easy path to walk through. The sky is still a bit grey, but at least it isn't raining like when we left the hotel at 6:20 in the morning.

The trail is nicely market. The Pacific Ocean is on our left and we continue on our way.

The trail somewhat melts away as things get noticeably more rocky. The entire Galapagos was created by a set of volcanoes. These are all volcanic rocks. This is the exact kind of environment the Galapagos Iguanas like to live in as the rocks provide shelter and it's right by the sea. The Galapagos Iguana is the only aquatic iguana in the world!

Right on cue one pops it's head out over a rock. Look how well camouflaged it is in it's natural habitat!

We see the trail marker and head towards it.

By the time we reached our final destination of Playa Baquerizo I saw so many Iguanas just like this I stopped photographing them!

The path leads us out to this patch of sand. From here we have a good view of the Pacific.

I notice the iguana on the rocks over there. Can you see him? Then something very small catches my eye.

Hermit Crabs! What on earth are they doing? Looks like it's some sort of hermit crab feeding frenzy on this plant sticking up out of the sand. I make believe I'm working for National Geographic and start filming!

This is some path! We continue on our way over these boulders.

I really like how this tree carved out a spot for itself sandwiched between all these rocks.

I really enjoyed working my way through this terrain. I was recently in Thailand and got used to that jungle like environment which I love. This place is like no other I've ever experienced!

In final I leave you all with a Travel Pro Video! If you've been following my adventures you can see I'm starting to get a lot more comfortable on camera. Having an opening and closing line goes a long way! It's like answering the phone and saying hello and then goodbye at the end! So until next time. Travel Pro Checking Out!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -0.872693 lat -89.578743 long d3scr

Sort:  

My type of walk. I love rocky terrains. Thanks for pointing out that iguana, it sure can camouflage itself. I also did not know they were the only aquatic iguanas.

It was a very fun hike. Thank you for coming along via Steemit! :)

Thank you for sharing I will visit one day.

I love the video I feel like I follow your steps. Oh!!! be careful I am just right behind you. Boo :)))

For your sunburn would be the best aloe leaves ? Do you have any over there ? Sorry to hear that Dan :))) Hope you will feel better :)

Greeting

I'm doing much better. I almost feel bad, like I'm doing a bit false advertising or something. This all happened about 6 weeks ago. So yes I'm feeling much better. I've got so much material to post I'm like....lagging in time. I'm now 3,300 meter us in the Peruvian Andes in Cusco!

I did actually use aloe. Thank you for checking in Margeret. Have a great day!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-adventure-18-hiking-the-south-western-coast-of-san-cristobal-island-galapagos-part-five-animals-big-and-small-18


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

dan..nice post...auto upvote not working? see my last two...no upvotes from you..(or others that have me on auto upvote!!)

And the price of steem and SBD is 50% down over the past couple weeks. Patience is key, things will all come back to normal and better in time. Thanks for you continued support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47