Real Life Captured #247: Athens Greece! Part Six (10 photos)

in #travel5 years ago

Hey there friends and followers! In this "Real Life Captured Series" I do my best to bring you exactly that; the real life captured from destinations all around the world! After sixteen years of travel experience my favorite thing to do is walk around! That's right, I simply like to go to foreign countries and walk around. I observe (and now photograph) the people, food, culture, way of everyday life and bring it to you in this "Real Life Captured Series".

Athens Greece was certainly an interesting place to say the least. A city full of ancient history and ancient ruins. It's an exciting place to be and one of the lesser expensive cities to visit in the EU. The city center is beautiful and there is a lot to do and see in this area.

Taking a walk outside of the city center will also give you a much more real experience. Greece is a country who has been through a financial hardship over the past decade and has also taken in many displaced migrants from the middle east. The idea of these "real life photos" is to give the viewer a non sugar coated depiction of the destination and that is exactly what we get in this Travel Pro Real Life Captured Athens Greece series!

With over 16 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

This blog would not be possible without the support of.....

@ ... dtube lukestokes slowalker sandra flipstar teamsteem magicmonk nomadicsoul joythewanderer eturnerx jpphotography backscrathcer gtg gavvet qurator yankee-statman mammasita sultan-aceh luzcypher phortun ivansnz karenmckersie travelfeed steemitworldmap world5list chefsteve offoodandart hedge-x intrepidsurfer gillianpearce makeithappen justyy newhope tombstone ripperone mangos ausbitbank alexis555 redes jedau doitvoluntarily theywillkillyou heyitshaas margaretwise gregbit fitinfun bxlphabet lizanomadsoul

THANK YOU

I support these people for witness and you can too!

teamsteem lukestokes.mhth qurator pfunk jutsyy mahdiyari gtg timcliff roelandp good-karma blocktrades ausbitbank aggroed kevinwong pharesim

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 37.982461 lat 23.728383 long d3scr

FREE $40 of Airbnb Credit to New Users!

Check Out My Free E-Book Published on Steemit!

How to Live Travel Pro! An In-depth Guide on How to Budget Travel Around the World.

Sort:  

Hi Dan, @world-travel-pro - I have a bunch of stuff to ask/tell you but for now -

Go into your auto-voter(s) and change your vote time to 5 minutes. This is the best time now that we forked and you will do better on curation rewards. Change your dad too. The difference is significant over time.

I am really on your post because I am checking out @travelfeed.io before I start to use it. I'm looking at posts in the dApp for examples and found you.

I am also in their travelfeed discord and they are trying to get a group together to go to Chiang Mai for a few days directly after STEEMFest. The aim is to recruit other digital nomad travel bloggers to come here and post. I think that is a great idea and I will be the 4th to sign up to do it if I can. Money, always money is the issue.

I will STEEM blog this idea as much as I can in advance in hopes of getting help for us to make the trip a success. Also blogging while we are there. I have been in this group a year at least and think it's a steem winner. And I know a couple of people living in CM permanently now thanks to tasteem.

Would you be up for this part of the adventure? Please say yes. I might go for 5 days maybe. Not sure yet. The longer I am out of Malaysia the better for my visa.

And regardless, I need help on where to stay. I know you have a line on a few things up there. $2 usd per night for a hostel bed would be awesome lol.

Thanks for writing this comment through TravelFeed.io!
You have received a 12% upvote from us. We hope to see you soon on TravelFeed.io!

Hi Sharon. Hi Travel Feed Guys!

Thanks for the tip on changing my auto voter. I'll try to get around to that soon. In Chiang Mai I always stay at Jonadda Guest House in the northeast corner of old town. (comes up on google maps) It's well run, in a great location. Tell them Dan from the US sent you and I think they will be happy and remember me. I think their going rate now is about 8 dollars a night for a small fan roon. But if you stay a week or longer you can make a deal. Also Airbnb has blown up world wide now and it's well worth a look on there too. I'm almost 100% airbnb now wherever I go. You can negotiate on there too. Stay a month and see the prices drop huge on airbnb.

As far as me going to Chiang Mai right after. I like that city but I prefer small towns like Pai and the Islands. I'll probably be going to either the after party in Koh Chang, or simply go to my favorite spot in the country and get a nice apartment for a month on the Island of Koh Phagnan. Just north of Koh Samui. I actually just wrote a whole post about it you can see here.

https://steemit.com/roadtosteemfest/@world-travel-pro/road-to-steemfest-5-the-thai-life-and-what-to-expect

It's not my place to say anything. But I think everyone would have so much more fun if they considered going to this island paradise. I can just imagine this island filled with a couple hundred steemit people. That would be amazing.

I'm now in Playa Del Carmen and as always my computer time is limited as, well..... you know how I am.

Thanks for the note and feel free to email or message me anytime about anything.

Hope you are having a great day!

From Mexico! -Dan

Thank you so much for all the info Dan, @world-travel-pro. This is very helpful. No plans are firm for this jaunt yet but if we get enough people airbnb might be the best.

I cannot think of anything less fun than going to the beach with a bunching of drinking and partying westerners - steemers or not. But have at it, lol.

For me - making connections with travel bloggers seems the way to go. Somehow we need to get more people here and the fork was turned the place into a ghost town. So many people have left. I'm winning all the contests I enter since no one else is there. At least people who already blog and are nomads have a hope of attaining the skills to succeed here.

Plus I have online connections in CM already, so I want to meet them through this opportunity.

I'm glad you are posting to the STEEMFest contests. I'm sure you have your ticket already, but if not, the price goes up again at the end of Sep. I'm not going to be buying one at all. Either I win one or do other things during the convention hours. I have ideas :)

See you very soon and enjoy Mexico. I would love to get there one day.

Thanks for the kind words and I'm so happy to help. Yeah, I don't think riding around on a scooter all over the island and drinking on the beach is your thing. However they do have a few very cool 420 bars! hahaha I know Chiang Mai is more your seen. I love it there too. Definitely in my top 10 places to live list. Hey that sound like a great video post. I aught to get on it. I've already got my ticket, got in before the price hike of Sept. Thanks for tipping me off on the road to steemfest post. That's been pretty good for me so far!

But seriously, how big of a ghost town has steemit become? Seems like suddenly I'm getting more up-votes and making more than a few weeks ago, is that because the activity is getting concentrated due to lack of participants?

Yes, come to Mexico. Playa del Carmen would suit your budget I'm sure. Food is great here as well! So close the US, but so far away! hahaha Have a great day! -Dan

Somewhere around 40-60% of little people left. My contests are empty and I am winning everything. I try to win 10 sbi each week my three blogs. Last week I won 24! I was the only person in two of the contests so I got the first prize and won many I have never won before. Those of us who keep posting will do much better.

The bigs have to vote now - much of what they used to do is now unprofitable, and voting with 50% curation makes them a lot. My steemitmamas group got a delegation from someone who used to do something else wth their sp - so that trail now gives me better votes 4-6 times a day on two of my blogs. THEN the leader of our group made a post thanking the delegator and the whales piled in for $60!!! A post like that would have gotten maybe $5 in the past.

Another place I post daily gives a trail vote after one day with maybe 6 voters. It is not huge but reliable. This week the dev of the dApp added himself to the trail with 30Ksp. Before he was selling votes - now that no longer pays so he decided to support HIS OWN dApp, lol.

I'm reading a lot of bad knowledge about voting by the bigs. I am finally going to write a few "whale tips" posts to help us all out :)

Keep doing what you do. You are for sure going to do better from here on out. Ramp up to 3 a day and CHANGE YOUR VOTE TIME!!! Five minutes. Thank me later :)

Awesome Sharon! Backscratcher is a great group too, but it's got much control of my voting power now. They actually booted me off for having my VP dip below 85% too often. However at a once a day vote of 20% of 1,000,000 SP is very nice. If the price went back to 50 cents well, you know.....Also the group seems to be growing. It has it's pros and cons, like I can't up-vote much on my own anymore. But then again, I'm not into curating anyway.

Thank you for sharing all the info that you do with me and congrats on doing so well with the contests know, however it would be nice to see people coming to steemit instead of leaving. The alt coin annihilation sure has not helped.

You certainly know your stuff here on steemit, I'll have to keep and eye out for your whale tip post.

I changed my vote time just now to 5 min. Thanks again for all your help and support.

Have a great day!

Hi Dan, @world-travel-pro, My VP is way too low for Backscratcher now. I have been voting little people to try to help with my pitiful amount. We sure do need a break with all these people out the door.

I'm asking for your help now. I am in the running in a dPoll. You need to login to them to vote with steemconnect or keychain. I'm in a "Twitter Memes" contest by theycallmedan with great prizes if I can get to 8th place with "Staked Based" voting. So people with good sp like you count for more than 10 little people.

So the site is dpoll dot io <<< not linking so I do not get busted, lol. Then you scroll through the pages until you get to the poll. I am the very last choice to vote for out of 108 entries! I'm in 9th place now and need to be in 8th place of better to win.

Your vote does not cost in STEEM. dPoll voting is separate and free. TY so much if you can do this :)

Just did it Sharron. Best of Luck!

I have always wanted to travel to Greece. Great photographs.

Awesome! Thank you!

YOu're welcome.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-captured-247-athens-greece-part-six-10-photos-1566963715


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

yes ◕ヮ◕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81