Octopus impresses my daughter!

in #travel6 years ago


When we were on our family holiday in Crete, we spent a morning in the aquarium in Heraklion. My daughter was very impressed by its ability to move 8 arms independently from one another and swim so fluently. She absolutely loved the animal ... for a few moments!

Aquariums and zoos are now a huge part of our lives as parents and although we don't like seeing animals in captivity, they help educate children about nature and ensuring that we preserve it for future generations.

For a full review of our trip to Crete, have a look at my post from January when I dedicated my 'a Wolfs' Journey' to Crete.

Be mindful of the nature and throw your rubbish in a bin!

Thanks,

Doron


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Octopuses are so smart. They're one my favorite sea creatures.

This was the first time I'd seen one live and I was also fascinated. I didn't know they were intelligent, what makes you say that?

Well... they've been known to study and use the environment to their advantage. Here's a link to what some of them have done. They also don't just have their brain in one spot. They have neurons reaching out to their tentacles. http://www.upworthy.com/13-of-the-most-frighteningly-smart-things-octopuses-can-do

Very interesting, thank you for that contribution. For some reason I always associated them with Jelly-fish without a brain or thinking organ. I've learnt something new again. Thanks!

I'm glad you found value in my comment.

Yes fascinating creatures.

I just imagine your daugher going like "oooh it can move 8 legs independetly"
and then you just reply with "Yeah... they do that"

hahahaa :) i just made myself laugh

wtf

LMAO, she was fully in trance. She said that it was dancing.

Oooppssss... This is so scary. Your daughter must be very brave. Nature is beautiful and educative though.

She's only 3 so she doesn't really realize it yet.

I agree with you on the importance that aquariums and zoos play in educating us. I had the chance to visit Ripley's aquarium in Toronto and it featured a couple of tanks where you could touch the animals and straight after learn about the negative impacts our actions can have on the environment. One of the best ways to drive the point home in my opinion.

I agree it's both a great way to keep little kids entertained and on the other hand to educate you about the oceans and what we're doing to it.

Wooo so lovely picture @wolfje

It's a video, click on it

Yes I see that was really nice

Saludos desde Venezuela, Maravilloso, post @wolfje. Me encanto

Ehm, sorry I don't speak Spanish ... Gracias

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60