a Wolfs‘ Journey around the world …

in #travel6 years ago

Zürich

Disclaimer: My travel blog, based on my own experiences and opinions. Trying to give you neutral and unbiased travel advise. All pictures are my own unless stated otherwise.

IMG_4617.JPG
a Part of the fantastic skyline of Zürich with the Grossmunster & Fraumunster churches very visible and you see the Swiss do something they love doing ... congregating around the water/lake

It is about time that I do a travel post about the town that my wife showed me on the first day that I came to Switzerland. I never told you guys about how we met and the fantastic story about the first time I was going to come to visit her … and maybe I will one day 😜 but today I will write about Zürich, the city she showed me after that eventful day.

Zürich is the largest city in Switzerland by population and is located in the German speaking part. Having said that, the German they speak in Switzerland is not the same as the German in Germany or Austria it’s a completely different dialect and there are no written rules. One of the first words that I picked up was ’Grüezi’, which is the way that people greet one another.

IMG_1819.JPG
the Swiss are very conservative and love traditions. One morning strolling in Zürich we stumbled on this parade.

This was the first thing that appealed to me as people greet one another everywhere, in the shops, strangers on the streets, neighboors … it’s still a village compared to other cities in Europe, where you get lost in the numbers.

When you go into the centre of Zürich, the first thing that I noticed in comparison with other cities that I visited is that there are a lot of old buildings, perfectly maintained, the streets are clean and many streets are only for pedestrians accessible. Many streets are also covered in cobblestones and there are a lot of small old/traditional shops, although this has reduced over the past several years, you can still find some even in the ’Bahnhofstrasse’ one of the most famous (and expensive) shopping streets.

DSC07566.JPG
An alley-way with hidden secrets

Walking around in Zürich, you notice little alley-ways (Gassen) everywhere with lots of hidden gems and you really have to explore the city on foot to discover their hidden treasures. One of the first alley-ways, my (now) wife took me to, had a glass floor and you could see remnants and excavations of a Roman settlement that was there ages ago and where they’d been building houses on top.

  • Category: City Trip
  • Recommended length of stay: minimum 3 nights on a city break, but take your time if you can, as there’s a lot of nature and things to see in the vicinity
  • Currency: Swiss Franc (CHF)
  • Timezone: GMT+1
  • Perfect for: Weekend, Romance, Luxurious lifestyle, History, Shopping and nature
  • Target group: Couples, over 50's & friends

IMG_4935.JPGSprüngli has been in Zürich since 1836 and is an institution on its own. This confiserie has fantastic treats.

What I like about Zürich:

  1. It’s a small metropolitan with a village feel. Shops still close early and stay closed on Sundays
  2. There’s a lot of history and historical buildings & sites
  3. In the summer people congregate around the lake for a drink and/or swimming
  4. You’re close to nature and despite its reputation, you can easily spend a day without spending any money
  5. The standard of living is very high and you still notice quality in the products that you buy or experience

If you’re ever planning on visiting Switzerland, this is actually one of the places where I can tour you around myself, as I live in the vicinity, it would be an honour and a pleasure. Hook me up on discord: wolfje#6587 and we can even do a post together!

IMG_2936.JPGThat's me on a fantastic summers' day on the lake. Unfortunately my father-in-law sold the boat.

Until the next one, happy travelling!

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.369700547623495 lat 8.535003664609349 long Zürich D3SCR

Sort:  

I am a bangladeshi. lots of people told me that switzerland is called a heaven of world.I wish , i can go there.

It is fantastic, I do hope you can come for a visit one day!

It looks like an amazing trip. The Hidden streets seem to be in a special treat... And glass floors revealing ancient civilizations... a true adventure. The pictures are amazing. Thank you so much for sharing with us all

You're welcome, if you're ever in the neighboorhood I'll show you the sights. Switzerland is full of nature and history.

Nice summery of visiting Zürich. Generally Switzerland has this village like feeling. Well, that is what I’m experiencing and what I love about Switzerland 😊

Same here, there are not many villages that I don't like ... although Murg springs to mind on the Walensee. When we went there we only noticed concrete high buildings. It was horrible, but other than that I'm in love with the country. One of the reasons why I wanted to become Swiss.

Well described! I especially agree with the number 1 (It’s a small metropolitan with a village feel.) I have to revisit it someday, especially if you will be the guide!

Absolutely and we'll even go running together 😉

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wolfje
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=5pvw6e-a-wolfs-journey-around-the-world


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 63.64% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic, currently working as a funding tool, courtesy of @wolfje!

  • Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29