Traveling in Korea #1 - Traditional Clothing

in #travel7 years ago


So you want to spend a day walking around traditional streets and wearing traditional clothes in South Korea?

This place is a must see for anyone traveling to Korea. I recently spent an afternoon here walking around with my husband. Bukchon Hanok Village features many streets with traditional homes called "hanok."

  • Yes, people actually LIVE in these homes.
    IMG_6291.JPG

Can you imagine, posing in front of this persons home for a picture. When, suddenly, they open their door. The exchange would be SO awkward hahaha.

Hanbok01.jpg

Near the entrance to the Hanok Village, there are tons of shops that offer hanbok (traditional clothing) rental. We ended up spending 20,000 WON (~$18 USD) for a 3 hour rental...for 2 people!! I couldn't believe how cheap it was. There are some themed coffee shops sprinkled all over Korea that charge WAY more for a 1 hour rental (and you can't wear it outside).

The shop we went to had hundreds of options available. I mean, the racks of hanbok were almost endless! I picked out the top and bottom that I liked and then the staff assisted me with putting it on.
hanbok07.jpg
So if you are looking for a deal, Hanok Village is the place to go!

  • Pro tip: The palace in Seoul is very close to Hanok Village. If you are wearing a hanbok, you can get free entrance into the palace!

Fair warning though...

It is usually packed with tourists. So if you are looking to get beautiful pictures WITHOUT people in the background....well good luck! Gotta find those angles!
hanbok02.jpg
hanbok03.jpg
Hanbok04.jpg
Hanbok05.jpg
And just a splash of goofing off~
Hanbok06.jpg

Sort:  

Hello! It's nice to see you here! Hope you enjoy it on here as much as I do.
Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES

Loading...

Welcome to Steem @wlsghwjd I have sent you a tip

I like the traditional colorful dress!

Haha that last picture is too funny!

He has no shame haha. There were dozens of people waiting there to take a picture, but he still decided to jump and make that face lol

I like your pictures. I will go to Korea later this year. I hope to have as much fun as you :)

Thank you! Its a great place to visit. I hope you enjoy your tip :)

Lovely pictures @wlsghejd - voted up and following. SirKnight

Thank you, much appreciated! Glad you liked the pictures :)

It's a beautiful culture

It is! And its still very much a part of their society although everything has been modernized.

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

I always wanted to go to Korea. Now I feel like I am there with you. I followed and hope you post more!

Thank you! I'll be posting many more trips in the future. I hope you get the chance to visit Korea one day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63955.44
ETH 2745.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65