RACCOON CAFE IN KOREA!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


I would argue that Korea is the mecca of themed cafes. Want to visit a cat café? No problem. Dogs are more your thing? We’ve got that too. What about sheep, you ask? Of course. But if you want to have a really fun time, the Raccoon café is the way to go.



Raccoons are famous for looking like burglars. Let me tell you, they did not disappoint. Before walking into the café, you are warned to close all of your bags and store them in a locker. Why? Because the raccoons can and will open your bags to commandeer your belongings. They especially love pens and cell phones.

Just like the other cafes, the price of admission is buying one drink.

This is where it all went wrong for me. I thought a strawberry and banana smoothie sounded wonderful at that time. So I forked over the 7,000 WON it cost (~6.50 USD). Then I found a nice table and sat down to enjoy my smoothie while watching the raccoons mess with the people next to me.

Within seconds, they smelt their pray…my smoothie. Two of them basically warped out of nowhere on my table. One of them went to my scarf, and as I tried to pull him away, the other one stuck his paws in my drink!

Well, I can’t say the staff didn’t warn me haha. But man, they were quick.

Moral of the story…always ask for a lid and keep the drink in your hand.

The café I went to called Double M in Wonju, South Korea was very clean and only had 2 raccoons (which was MORE than enough trouble for one room!) The owners told us that the raccoons were rescued when they were babies after their mother died.

This particular raccoon fell in love with my scarf. He was biting it, hugging it….doing something that very much resembled humping it……you get the gist.


drawn by me in Procreate on iPad Pro


The raccoons in this café were very playful. Here is the same one, who was making love to my scarf, trying to eat my husbands coat.


Are cats more your thing? Check out this post on the cat cafe I went to. CLICK HERE~

Cat Cafes in Seoul

If you enjoyed this post, don’t forget to follow for more!
~Jay

Sort:  

You deserve to get upvote for this post. Raccoon is my favourite animal. I wanna show u soon. Visit my blog for my latest post about Golden Beach Resort.

Raccoons are so cute. Such an interesting post.

They were adorable! I wanted to taken one home with me (until I noticed what big trouble makers there were haha). Thank you for commenting!

I sooo want to go there!!

I would HIGHLY recommend it! I had a great time...and so did they trying to steal my scarf haha

I bet they did, they are totally adorable ^w^

We don't have themed cafes here - but I wish we did! With cats of course :)

Your racoon sketch is adorable and you are very talented.

Also it looks like your cat cafe link isn't working.

Thank you so much!! I'd have to go with the cat cafe too. They are just too cute.
And thanks for letting me know about the link! :O I have fixed it~

wanted to visit the cat and.dog cafe when i was in south korea last year, but they wouldnt let me go inside because my kid was just 2 at that time. they said kids noise might anger the animals or irritate them. will definitely gonna go next time

Sorry to hear that 😮. I can understand that though, better to be safe. For sure try again in the future if you get a chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68