You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring Auschwitz

in #travel5 years ago

It's a good post, thank you for this! I truly belive more people should be aware of the history, of all the horrors and tortuare that actually happened...

I too wish to go to Auschwitz one day. My nation suffered form it greatly, many intelligent, innocent and talented people died for nothing. For me, coming to Auschwitz in a way would be like paying respect to all the people that died.

Also if you like to read and you are interested in this kind of thing, might I suggest you read a book "forest of the gods" by Balys Sruoga. It's a book written by a lithuanian that survived Stutthof concentration camp. It's a really powerfull read, it really shows what horrors happened in these camps and how people tried to deal with it.

Once again, thanks for the great post!

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for the information. I can see there is a film too:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forest-of-the-Gods/dp/B007B32J0I/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1542400034&sr=8-2&keywords=Balys+Sruoga

This story is not for the fainthearted, it is about the brutallity and madness of the third Reich which never ended when the cruel Communists took over. It shows the sadness of the Baltics including Poland. Even though it is in a foreign languade with Lithuanian subtitles it is not hard to understand the concept of the writer.A must see

I don't get time to read books these days, its a shame there is no audiobook, as I would have given it a go.

I personaly haven't seen the movie so I cannot tell if it's good or not. And yes it's a shame there is no audiobook, these types of books don't get that much attention sadly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94