Let's Explore the World #2 - Arriving to Amsterdam. Exploring the City. Preparing for our Rave Festival.

in #travel7 years ago

As you may or may not know this weekend Sandra and I are attending a rave festival in the Netherlands. We arrived yesterday and spent a full day in Amsterdam, we needless to say had a blast.

Let's rewind a couple of hours...

1

A big perk of being a frequent traveller is that it allows me to have a SAS gold membership, where in my opinion the best benefit is granted access to its lounges around the world. Thus, as we arrived early morning to Arlanda airport outside Stockholm we could begin our journey with some minor luxury 🙏🏼

2

The first thing we did upon arrival (besides taking our cheesy couple selfie 😉), was to grab a humongous burger at our favourite place here called Burger Bar. I snapped a photo of Sandra's burger and it tasted even better than it looked.

3

We dropped our bags at our hotel and headed outside to rent a couple of bikes. Whatever city you go to, I strongly recommend to rent bikes, such an amazing vehicle to explore a vast amount of the city in such a small time.

4

Last visit in Amsterdam we went to the Van Gogh museum, and after reading some post here on Steemit we decided to go to the Rijksmuseum. Although first, I had to do the most touristy thing imaginable and climb the "I AM STERDAM" monument thingy. 😁

5

6

We definitely weren't disappointed, they also had an awesome app for mobile phones, leading you through a route of selected highlights explaining the facts and nuances of the artworks.

7

And check this library out. I would lie if I said that this doesn't turn me on. 😂

8

We also had to strike a selfie in an ancient, dusty old mirror. 💪🏼

9

We headed back to hour hotel and as darkness approached we headed out for a dinner at this Asian place. It was great although the food didn't look very aesthetic so I won't bore you with more food photos.

We met up with my long-time friend Jonathan, coming from Gothenburg, Sweden to attend the rave festival with us tomorrow (or today speaking🎉). We had a couple of beers and a glass of whisky and just had a great time catching up. And wow, I haven't drank in months and although I can count the beers I had on less than one hand I can feel a moderate hangover today haha. 🙌🏼

10

Walking around in the red-light district is something I never get tired off. You really get the impression that Amsterdam truly is a city that never sleeps 🤟🏼

11

The time just struck noon and we are just about to check out from our hotel. The day will be spent preparing for the BIG night. Thus, conserving energy and just having a great time is priorities number one and two. Allowing us to rave all night from 21.00-07.00 (yes, 10 hours non-stop😉).

This is what the music will be like and the how the arena looks pretty much for those that are interested. The genre is called Hardstyle ✌🏼

Sort:  

thank you for sharing your experience @williamwest, I am myself quite eager to see Amsterdam although at the moment I need to refine some other aspects of my life. Don't know why, but I can;t think about going to Amsterdam without seeing the zoo or taking a water bus.

🙏🏼 You should definitely pay a visit some day. Have yet to visit the zoo myself, perhaps in summer ;)

Cool, you we're in my city. Hope you enjoyed it! Those raves are not bad are they? ;-)

Loved it! They are the bomb 💣

I really love this of post, @williamwesI cant afford traveling so watching the images and reading how the authour express himself about this places is amazing.thanks for sharing this with us ,Im jouy fuul

Glad you enjoyed the post my friend, happy to spread the good vibes 🙏🏼

Wow that's a lovely article William brother! All the pictures are beautiful and Sandra's burger made me hungry .....😅IMG_4964.PNG

Yeah that was quite a sick burger haha 😅🙏🏼

Amsterdam har alltid varit på min bucket-list :) Hoppas ni har det helt fantastiskt :)

Vi hade det helt underbart 🙌🏼 Du får ta och åka dit någon gång!

Det ska jag absolut :) Kul att se era bilder =)

Looks great. Enjoy

Thank you 🙏🏼

You got a 2.92% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @williamwest!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Admirable work @williamwest... Fabulous photography work and nicely briefed story... I appreciate your efforts in promoting your city's tourism... Travel is a worth loving hobby... I do blog about Pakistan's tourism. You can check hee
@alif-meem

Thank you my friend 🙏🏼 I will check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36