Hiking Lady Slipper

in #travel7 years ago

Putting this hike down on your ‘To Do’ list is a must!

Lady Slipper, the title given to the mountain, is said to resemble a an upside-down high heeled shoe when looked at from afar. The rocky peaks, pristine fynbos and magnificent quartzite outcrops are sure to impress.

The Lady Slipper trail starts at Falcon Rock and climbs steeply up the mountain through the fynbos. I arrived at 8am before the blistering sun kicked in for the day.

The trail says no dogs but as you can see, I had a jack-russel and a lad follow me all the way up so I felt no harm in letting Rocket join.

Even got my better half to join me on this one. Not the most flattering picture but ey when its 30+ out, I don't have to spell it out. Funny enough this was one our 1st date spot.

Very romantic you know, half dying climbing up this mountain in skinny jeans, trying not to let him see the strain or sweat. Jeans were just happen to be what I was wearing on this surprise. I now question all surprises and what I should wear above all else haha. But all in all was truly a great experience and got treated to a surprise picnic once I made it to the top. Champagne was included.

The Groot Winterhoek mountain range dominates the skyline to the north, with Cockscomb at its western end. To the south you can see the coast from Port Elizabeth to Cape St Francis and beyond.

Worth every bit of that steep incline.

With my Rocket joining in.

.

Spend life with who makes you happy.
Live the life you have imagined.

See more adventures of myself & Rocket travelling the world @wildone

Sort:  

Great post thanks for sharing! Hoping to see more of your adventures.

Wish I could upvote this twice, once for the view at the top and once for Rocket haha.

Thank you very much. Realising now my handle should have been @Rocket as he seems to be far more popular hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34