You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stingrays, Sharks and Dolphins Live Here

in #travel6 years ago

Thanks for clarifying @donald.porter.

| Recently the Jamaica Stock Exchange announced plans to allow regulated crypto trading on their platform.

Yeah I saw that, very exciting news for JA. From the outside it looks as though Jamaica is pretty behind the curve with crypto, but then you hear good news like this. I think crypto and platforms like Steemit could really offer ways for local people to earn some extra dollars on the island. Also a way of crowdfunding for local projects. It's a long story, but I've got a particular love for Jamaica and a desire to try living there (I've also caught a seriously bad case of Reggaemylitis). Not in a Romantic sense, I know of the troubles and the hardships there ... But I'd like to support all things Jamaican on the blockchain, especially your work with beachfrontcrypto.com (cool site), so let me know if I can help in any way (especially in the future if I can grow a following with @steembluepages), and keep up the good work. And maybe one day I'll even make it there with the family for real!

Cheers bro.

Sort:  

@wildcosmos sorry took so long to reply.

I feel the same way about Steemit and getting Jamaican content creators involved but your right we are way behind here as a nation. That's why I built Beachfront Crypto, it's my (well and my biz partners) contribution to crypto adoption. We are planning meetups and trying to get Steemit into the schools, it's an easy way to get kids involved early and hopefully curb the scamming epidemic that's destroying our image.

We can definitely use your help. I've been studying up on how to build on the Steemit blockchain. A simple Jamaican re-steem/up-vote service that donates to schools is a goal. Maybe we can work together on it and share the developer returns.

I'm also the marketing mngr at Seastar Inn Negril (#1 on Tripadvisor, I'm proud of that 😎), if your coming down it's a great place to stay. Call the front desk and say your a friend and you'll get a discount.

If your on Twitter follow me twitter.com/donaldporterjm and send a DM...Oh and nice selection 👍

Bless

Hi @donald.porter. No worries, apologies myself, I've been really busy too.

I'm also the marketing mngr at Seastar Inn Negril (#1 on Tripadvisor, I'm proud of that 😎), if your coming down it's a great place to stay. Call the front desk and say your a friend and you'll get a discount.

Cheers! Seastar looks like our cupa' tea - charming but cheapish.

and hopefully curb the scamming epidemic that's destroying our image.

Yeah, all the scamming is pretty worrisome. There was a fake Telegram ICO lately that was incredible. And the Bitcoin Wealth scam is now hitting UK/Ireland, with fake newspaper articles, paid actors, everything. (I'm thinking there's a scam-alert niche needing filled here too ...).

We are planning meetups and trying to get Steemit into the schools, it's an easy way to get kids involved early

I've been following similar efforts over in Nigeria and other African countries, spreading Steemit in different ways. Not so much with kids though, which is more exciting I reckon - I keep thinking of what kids could do with all these creative/monetised tools in their hands (other than scamming), if they learned how to use them and had regular access to blockchain ...

I can certainly help here on the Steemit/internet side of things if something can be oganised on the ground.

A simple Jamaican re-steem/up-vote service that donates to schools is a goal. Maybe we can work together on it and share the developer returns.

Honestly, man, I'm thrilled that you say that. A 'charity bot' is exactly what I've been thinking too. I keep looking at the Tree Planter bot in particular, and thinking how that awesome concept could be used in other ways ... But I'm lacking the skills to put a voting bot together, and even if I could I wouldn't want to try it solo .

I'd be sincerely interested in working together on a project like that. Pooling resources and skills and sharing returns. Can you email me at [email protected] with your thoughts on developing a JA worthy cause voting bot? And I'll get back to you pronto with some ideas too.

All the best D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50