Old Winston-Salem Historic Moravian Community, North Carolina Living History

in #travel7 years ago

I had the opportunity to visit Old Winston-Salem and explore the shops and beautiful old buildings. I learned a lot about how this peculiar community and how they lived. They were very pious and industrious people. The young men and women lived separate from their families, in men's and women's dorms.

The cemetery is the most unusual one I have seen. They have grave markers, but there are no names on them. I guess they believed it vanity to have your name memorialized in stone.

They have living history interpreters at this site. So for a small fee, you can pay to go on the tour and talk to the people in period dress doing their daily activities. There was a working brick-oven bakery there, and they had baked goods available for sale. There also was a phenomenal period restaurant that we visited for dinner.

The photos are from my visit. If you are in this area, I highly recommend taking the living history tour and learning about this interesting historic community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52