Travel Diary #1: Back to Cannon Beach, Oregon! My Happy Place!

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemers!

I've seen a lot of other people post their travel diaries on Steemit so I thought I would give it a try! As I mentioned in my introduction ( you can read that post by clicking this link...https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@whimsicalfawn/hello-to-the-steemit-community) I really enjoy traveling! Whenever I can get time off work or a holiday comes up on the calendar, you can bet I'll be traveling somewhere!!

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 02.jpg

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 01.jpg

I know everyone has their happy place. I have several and one of them is Cannon Beach! I discovered Cannon Beach about two years ago and it was practically love at first sight (I mean look at that sunset photo! Isn't this place stunning?). This place has been on my list of places to revisit and I am so happy I got to spend my July 4th weekend there. Cannon Beach is known for their famous Haystack Rock which is this huge rock formation that sits on the beach. When the tide is low you can easily walk up to it and get pretty close to it which was super cool.

Back to Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 01.jpeg

Back to Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 02.JPG

Back to Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 06.JPG

Last time I was here, I drove down from Seattle with my friends and we were only there for a couple of hours to catch the sunset. This time, I rented a house that was less than a 5 minute walk from the beach (which was a good idea by the way!). It was so nice being able to wake up in the morning to see the sunrise. Then grab a coffee and pastry from the local bakery and stroll through the beach on my way back to the house we rented. The downtown Cannon Beach is really small but it's filled with some cute boutique shops, coffee shops and restaurants.

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 04.jpg

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 05.jpg

The coffee from Sleepy Monk Roasters was really good! They had some fresh baked goods in the morning which were all pretty delicious! We also tried another coffee shop called Insonmia and had a latte and some pastries as well.

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 07.jpg

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 08.jpg

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 09.jpg

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 10.jpg

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 11.jpg

I had a really nice couple of days relaxing by the beach, exploring the little town nearby and driving up the coast to see part of Oregon I haven't visited before. It was just the type of vacation I needed! I can't wait to go back there again and next time I think I will want to stay for about 2 weeks.

Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 06.jpg

Back to Cannon Beach Whimsicalfawn 04.JPG

Where is your happy place and why does it make you happy?

Let me know in the comments below! Also, be sure to leave me an upvote if you liked this post and want more content like this on here! I'm new to Steemit so let me know if you followed me or left me an upvote so I can return the favor by visiting your page!

Until next time!

Crissy

Sort:  

Congratulations @whimsicalfawn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @whimsicalfawn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98