You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 months, 18 countries, 28 cities later - How much it costed me

in #travel6 years ago

@svemirac It is all relative to how much you earn. If you look at the context and the numbers you'll know that I'm speaking to the privileged who grow up in the first world countries in this post.

I know people who travel for 2 weeks and spent 10000. My point being you don't need to spent that much.

And... of course you'd spend less monthly if you're living locally. You're stating the obvious. No one compared travelling to living in ones country. I also stated my purpose isn't to travel as cheap as i can. I've met backpackers who spent 15 euros in over a week. That's cheap.

This post isn't bragging about travelling nor rubbing it in the faces of those who can't. I've personally met people who can't. Those are the ones who hold restricted passports from war torn countries, the single mothers who are barely supporting their own lives, the ones who are supporting their parents gambling addictions. I personally visited my sponsor child in a part of poverty stricken Philippines. I know.
But I'm speaking to the volumes of people from first world countries like me who are hating their jobs or want a break but don't realise that travelling is doable.
So many people say to me that they don't know how i could afford this etc etc, but for them it's most likely not a money issue but security, stability and responsibility. I get that. I'm not ignorant.

Travel is not just for fun. It can be for learning, but only if you let it be.
If you know me or read any of my posts you'll know I'm not as ignorant as you claimed.

I think you missed the entire point of this post.

Also if you do some calculations. That's roughly 65Aud a day. That's some people's accommodation cost alone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68