You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring Japan - A Walk Through Toji Market in Kyoto

in #travel6 years ago

I too love going to markets to take photos it shows so much of the character of the region. I didn't know taking photos of people is seen negatively in japan. If permission is asked would they often decline?

Sort:  

If Japanese people upload photos of other people online they always blur their faces out of respect (unless they have permission to upload it on a certain website). When I'm in Japan I try to be sensitive to this culture as many Japanese take online privacy very seriously, compared to here in the West anyway. My Japanese friends often talk about these situations so I try to be cautious myself not to upset anyone. If you ask permission and they say it's ok then you can go ahead. Objects and scenery are fine though.

Thank you for this information. I never realized this is a sensitive issue for some cultures. Something I would look into if ever we visit another country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78