Amazing Airbnb I Stayed in to Escape the Heatwave, Designed by Michael Graves -

in #travel6 years ago (edited)



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Click on image above to see Dtube video.

June 18, 2018

20180618_132119.jpg

20180618_132332.jpg

20180618_132052.jpg

20180618_132228.jpg

On Friday night I checked the weather forecast and notice a heat wave was settling in throughout the Midwest states for at least the next three days. I try to avoid hot weather if at all possible, having lived through 56 sweltering hot summers in Texas. Fortunately, the forecast is for mild temperatures during the Midwest Peace and Liberty Festival, near Delton, Michigan, that I’m heading to on Thursday. I’ve yet to camp in this kind of heat in four and a half years of nomading and I’m not about to start now.

So I decided to find an air-conditioned private room to hole up in for the next three days, via Airbnb. I chose to search in Fort Wayne, Indiana because that’s where my intuition told me to start. The very first house on my search, titled “The Cube House,” immediately caught my eye. Turns out it was the first home designed by world famous architect, Michael Graves. The home is a modern style, designed in 1967 and finished in 1971, and very unlike his later post-modern works that brought him notoriety. The price is a bargain at $113 for three nights, for a room in such a noteworthy residence.

20180616_161439.jpg

The cube shaped white house, with floor to ceiling windows, stands on a one acre lot, amidst a forest of towering trees, most of which are red maples. I was immediately greeted by the cat that resides here, Zoltar, The Destroyer. Don’t let the name fool you, he is the friendliest feline you will ever meet. The owner, Evan, is also a gracious host that will do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable.

20180617_093110.jpg

20180618_143501.jpg

20180618_124913.jpg

20180618_125045.jpg

My bedroom and bathroom was on the first floor, but I was also able to use the kitchen, dining area, balcony, and living area on the second floor, as well. I can also use the washer and dryer.

20180617_093014.jpg

20180617_092935.jpg

()

The fantastic kitchen is decked out with every possible appliance and two kinds of coffee makers. The bathroom is equally awesome, with towels as luxurious as a five star hotel, along with shampoo, body wash, conditioner and a hair dryer. How’s that for amenities?

I’m not sure why anyone would be traveling to Fort Wayne, but if you ever need a place to sleep; this is way cooler than any hotel room you will ever find anywhere for this price.

Here is a link to a video about the architect, Michael Graves.

https://www.pbs.org/video/geoffrey-baer-tours-architect-michael-graves-a-grand-tour/

20180617_093331.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T22:31:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hey. So I Was talking to @shaneradliff and we were both going to head to the Fest a night early. If you don't mind some company, though, we were thinking that maybe we could meet up with you at whatever site you end up at the night before (Wednesday night). Could be fun if all three van nomads got to swap some stories before we all head to Delton the next day.

Awesome! I was planning on staying in a city park campground in Otsego, Michigan. It is $5 per night. I'm going there Tuesday night and can reserve a spot or maybe two spots for us. Not sure if three vehicles can be in one spot, doubtful, but probably can get away with two. I think there are only 6 total sites, but not likely to be full on a Wednesday. Last year I stayed there a couple of nights and had only one other camper with me. I'll see what else is in the area and let you know. Otsego is 17 miles from Circle Pines. I listen to Shane's podcasts as well and met him and his side kick last year.

Just let me know where you end up. Shane and I will both likely get up that way sometime Wednesday evening. We can swap numbers or use Telegram/Signal if that's easier.

I found a place we can camp Wednesday night for free. It's a trail head parking area for the North Country National Scenic Trail, only 2.7 miles from Circle Pines Center. Plenty of room for three vehicles and well hidden from S. Yankee Springs Rd. that leads you here. Here's the map location link.

https://goo.gl/maps/z2KcQoNcN9r

And it has an At&T signal.

Hello @wanderingagorist, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94