Hitchhiking to city jungle of SÃO PAULO - the biggest city in South America!

in #travel7 years ago

It wasn't really difficult to get to São Paulo by hitchhiking. I would say, the first part was the hardest as I had to walk around 5 km with my backpack through hills. And my backpack seems just heavier and heavier... When I left home, it was 14 kg, but now even though I havr less cosmetics, it just seems heavier every week.

I was waiting around 1 hour for my first(and the only) ride. Before getting my ride, just one guy had stopped before offering me ride on his... hansom cab. To the better place to hitchhike, even though mine was really good. Also he wasn't Brazilian, probably Argentintean, and well, was insisting really much, and didn't seem as the person I would trust... I kept denying, then he asked if I wanted to "earn some money"... I literally didn't even want to know how I would get it. Finally I just said him to go away, as the other cars couldn't even stop because of him and his horse...

After he left I waited 20 minutes more and finally somebody stopped. It was 70 years old woman that offered me ride directly to São Paulo. We had lunch together in Ubatuba, in a restaurant just by the beach. She told me that after 35 years of living and working in huge São Paulo, She finally retired and rented apartment in Angra dos Reis, which is a small town on the beach in Rio state.

In São Paulo I was hosted by Lidiana that I met in February in Cracow! Lidiana and Erick were first Brazilians that I talked to just in Portuguese... Just imagine how proud I was haha! I met them during one night in Teatro Cubano - a club in my city and then I decided to show them how we party in Poland. Now they showed me life in their city!

São Paulo is an enormous city. The biggest in South America, quite expensive and well, for people living there it's normal that they have to spend 2 hours in public transport to get anywhere... And if you work just 30 minutes by car from your home, it's considered as really close there! The life seems completely different there than in another places of Brazil. People are always in hurry, without time to really enjoy life, family, friends... Something completely different than in all places that I got to know here, where people always have time for everything and never hurry up. And nobody wears flip flops there! I mean, I already got used to wear flip flops everywhere... And everything is so different!

Well, even though São Paulo isn't the place where I would like to stay for a longer time, it was definitely worth to see this other side of Brazil.

After 2 nights that I spent there, I took a bus to Foz do Iguaçu... I already felt like I was coming back home. What an amazing feeling! And I visited waterfalls for the 3rd time in my life!

Sort:  

Your stories are amazing! :)
I really like reading them. Especially that I will be traveling to this part of the world as well :)
Have fun! :)
P.S. Oh, and Foz do Iguaçu - this is on the top of my list of places to visit. I'm jealous you've been there 3 times :P

Haha Foz is one of my favourite places! If you need any advices etc, just let me know!

Congratulations @wandering-girl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35