Lost in Time - New Project Introduction!

in #travel6 years ago

Hi Steemians! I have an exciting new project to share called - Lost in Time!

I have been gifted an amazing collection of slides from my family, they had no use for them and had no personal attachment to them. I couldn't bare them going in the bin so I said I would take them. I thought there needed to be a way to share these photographs and give them their time to shine, so I thought I would make it into a series of blog posts!


It's amazing how many photographs my relatives took, considering film used to be, and still is, an expensive form of photography. I have got a LOT of scanning to do but I can't wait to share these amazing photographs that otherwise would have been lost in time! By the looks of it they were very keen travelers, everything was perfectly labelled so as long as I can make out the handwriting I can also share where they were taken. For now here is a little sneak preview of what is to come!

2018-01-23-0028.jpg

2018-01-23-0073.jpg

2018-01-23-0169.jpg

2018-01-23-0011.jpg

2018-01-23-0164.jpg

And here is the mountain of slides I have to get through! It's so exciting scanning each one in and seeing where they were and what they got up to, it's so sad to think that otherwise they would just have been lost!

26907044_10156906631258368_3364847880020088807_n.jpg

I can't wait to share the first selection of slides with you all!

Untitled-1.jpg

- Verity x


Photography all copyrighted
Please UPVOTE / RESTEEM to support my work on Steemit

Sort:  

Wow! can't wait to see them all! :) My parents also had hundred of "diapositives" of that kind lying around until the numeric cameras came up and the truth is that I have no idea what happened to them :-( Two years ago, also, in Spain, i found out in the street a lot of those slides thrown to the garbage by people who were cleaning up the flat of an old man who had died, and no one wanted of those slides. I found it very moving and sad.... These were a person's memory. So, I think that your project is amazing! :) Can't wait to see more!

Thank you so much, I am so excited to share them! Those are such sad stories and I guess I felt the same when our family members said they didn't want them, it is after all these people's amazing stories and adventures that meant something to them and it is so sad that so many of these slides end up in the bin because people can't be bothered to scan them in! It is a very time consuming process but I am really enjoying it and the photographs are incredible, I am so glad you like the prospect of my project, I can't wait to share the first selection :)

So cool! Any idea as to where the locations are in the slides? Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! Yes these are all in Switzerland up the Pilatus mountain and down to the village of Lucerne, I will go into more detail in Part 1 of this project :)

Awesome! Looking forward to it :)

What a great idea for a post! I'm looking forward to seeing the next lost in time travels!

Thank you! Me too! It's exciting for me to scan in each one and find out where they are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31