A traveling coders life

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Coding in snow

I never did an introductory so thought I should share what kind of life I lived a year back.

My name is Snorre Lothar von Gohren Edwin, and i'm a coder by heart and profession. I love making things, and if I can use my computer to make them on the internet, I'm utterly happy! But i'm also a vivid traveler and have been around the world! And last year I got the chance to travel and code! What a perfect combination that is! I think everybody should be able to do a really long travel at some point in their life, either if they are lucky enough to work at the same timer or not, doesnt matter. It's the traveling that matters!

I really miss that life and seek inspiration and motivation to do it again, so if you do some kind of remote work, let me know with a comment!

I was lucky enough to get a position so I worked 50% for a company in Norway, having some time off while still having time to really experience the country I was in. I was working with some internal systems so I didn't have to worry about customers policies and stuff.

But I started my trip freeskiing in the canadian mountains, Revelstoke to be precise, as the first picture shows. It was the perfect combination, skii 4-5 hours a day, work 5-6 hours. That alone could have been the perfect life, except that the winter doesnt last forever, unless you go to the other side of the world!

From there i went on to do some motorbiking in California. I rode from LA to San Fransisco and back again in about two weeks, stopping and just enjoying life! I traveled around and did some coding at different places

Beach coding

Coding on beach

High class hollywood coding

Coding in hollywood

Google inspiration coding

Coding on Google

From there my trip continued to Australia where I went roadtripping and other fun things. My friend was living in Australia so I took my vacation there and didnt code for about three weeks. I traveled on to Japan to experience the country of mysteries. I got to say that Japan truly is a great country! The people, the culture and the food is awesome! But I found some cool places to code there aswell.

Grotto coding

Coding in a grotto

Hiroshima coding

Coding in Hiroshima
Maybe there was some radioactivity that could inspire my coding in hiroshima.

The Japan trip had to end because of visa expiration so I continuet to Vietnam where I rode around on a motorbike for about 3 weeks. I is very difficult to get some work done when you are riding on your motorbike for 4-5 hours a day and have to experience the place you have arrived aswell. But I did get to do some

Jungle river coding

Coding in the river in the jungle

Here I actually got into some proper visa troubles, because I never got to renew my visa I had to bail the country. I found me some cheap tickets to Bangkok so I could get out. But unfortunatley I was 2 days late for the airport. They took me to the side, in a police room and told me that what I was doing was illegal. I tried to apologize and tell them that I had tried to renew my visa, but nobody could help me. So they decided to fine me the amount of Vietnamese money I had on me, and let me leave the country. I decided to go to the other side of the world, to be able to say that I had circled the earth. I ordered some tickets to South America from Bangkok, and I was lucky to find some cheap ones. I arrived in Brazil and lived there for about a month, traveling around and coding.

Coding at the end of the world

Coding at the end of the world

Coding on top of the world

Coding on top of the world

I hope I provided some inspiration and hope to find some myself to be able to go out and about to do this again!

Follow me on twitter: @vonGohren

Sort:  

Living the dream! Awesome traveling, good luck

Thanks man! It was a year back! But hope to do it again at some point!

I think now more than ever you can do that! Get paid in crypto and continue being the Steemit Carmen San Diego!

Hahaha! I shall consider it :D

Thank you and thank you. Gotta love me some filters :P

Don't know what you work with, but it is possible for everybody! :) Just came over this site though: http://www.remoteyear.com/

I like the pictures! ))

Thanks, it was a theme I went for for a while :)

A fellow remote software dev here, I love the shot of you working in the snow on a mountain.

If you're looking for some inspiration to get back into it, check out my post on working as a freelance web dev. https://steemit.com/business/@apardes/thoughts-and-tips-from-a-freelance-web-developer

Good luck out there!

Cool man! Like your tips! Have you ever just thought about a remote job rather than freelance?

You inspire me, thank you!

I glad to hear! I came over this site if you want to force yourself out and about: http://www.remoteyear.com/

Wish my coding lead to these kinda of adventures it must be really fun. If you don't mind me asking what is your skill of coding in?

GO ON! Try some on top of woman coding! Too much geekery going on here and not enough sex - beware or you'll turn into a paedophile my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30