Dracula's birthplace - Sighișoara by night

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Last week and this week were great. We had 2 free days, connected with each weekend and on top of that, I took another free day, last Thursday. Skipping work feels like being a kid back again.
I and my loved one ( @thegreywidow ) roamed a little through the country in order to check some places we didn't check up until now. To our shame, that is.

As on Thursday we left Ploiești quite late, (we had to work up until 16:00) we decided to have a stop in Sighișoara and stay the night. This is always a great option when you are coming from the South of Romania and want to reach the Northern part of the country. We have virtually no highway (except the 40km from Turda to Cluj) connecting Brașov and Cluj, so the road passes through the centre of Sighișoara. With trucks and everything, because, that's Romania.

Just take my advice and consider stopping in Sighișoara if nightfall is upon you while travelling in Romania.


VON_4076.jpg

The Clock Tower, the most important of the 9 Towers still in existance today

I'll admit that the title was somehow a clickbait one. But not totally. I decided to have this approach in the title because of the latest archaeological and historical studies on the issue, which state that Vlad Dracul, the father of Vlad the Impaler (the figure that Bram Stocker used in order to bring life to his Dracula character) stayed in Sighișoara about 4 years, while waiting the perfect moment to step on the throne of the Southern Romanian Province called "Țara Românească". It seems that in 1431, Vlad the Impaler was born here. Also because while photographing at night through this medieval citadel, while moving through the shadows of the narrow streets and passing by buildings still functioning as homes, taking a peek inside, there were sometimes chills down my spine. There's nothing devilish around; on the contrary, the chill down my spine was a good one, given by the respect I have when I am able to connect to places of great history that managed to reach our times mostly intact.

VON_4080.jpg

Main entrance of the Sighișoara Citadel, while coming up from the central square of the city.

Sighișoara is listed in the World UNESCO Protected Sites and is one hell of a city. Every time I come here I still can't understand how this beautiful citadel managed to escape the wrath of Ceaușescu that always looked to "systematize" cities. By some fortune, the city escaped the "forced modernisation" of the communist regime and the historical centre was preserved almost totally. This can be felt by the average tourist by using for accommodation the new investments in the old buildings. Either up, inside the citadel, or downstairs, in one of the old houses around the citadel's walls. We stayed one night in the oldest building still standing in Sighișoara, dating from 1568, as the murals show. It's a special place, a big investment, where you can sleep in 5 centuries old rooms but at an almost luxurious level. I will not say more about this because I want to make a separate article about this accommodation in order to go into the details of the place and see why I warmly recommend this, especially for the foreigners that might read it.

VON_4068.jpg

The place we stayed in had direct access to the citadel, through the back of the property. Beautiful.

Walking through the streets of Sighișoara at night, while there is very few people outside, is a treat. I only came to Sighișoara and stayed during the Medieval Festival the mayorship holds every year, for more than 10 years I think. While I would recommend to visit it during that weekend also, stepping between these centuries-old walls when there's silence and dark, is a situation you need to fall into. The game that light plays with the shadow on the narrow alleys and the whole landscape of the place, manages to transport back in time, even the most reluctant idiot. It's impossible to remain untouched by the architecture of german collonists, sent here to defend the eastern borders of the Empire.

VON_4088.jpg

Lonely strangers passing by in the central square of the fortress are a sight that a photographer appreciates as this can be the element that takes him back to our times if he transposed himself too much into history

Though the fortress is very well lit, they didn't exaggerate with the light. It wouldn't make for a good night feeling. I guess that the important thing in this kind of places is to still maintain that medieval look, especially during the night. Anyway, that feeling is usually broken by cars still entering the citadel. While some people may be disappointed that there is access with vehicles inside, I personally feel that as long as people are living in these buildings, they should be allowed to have and use cars. Not one/each head in the family, but at least one/family.

VON_4082.jpg

Hotel Sighișoara. While pitoresque, because of its central place inside the fortress, DO NOT EAT HERE! Lousy cuisine.

Now I want to find another opportunity to spend another night in Sighișoara (I don't like having two connected nights in one place, I have to admit - I get bored pretty fast). I haven't reached some nice places that definitely are worth photographed during the night. Still, I have a complete series of photographs, of the following day, that I will share with you in another article, dedicated to day shooting in Sighișoara. Until then, below are some other shots I took that warm night while strolling around, almost at midnight.

VON_4078.jpg

VON_4091.jpg

I love the lamp lights they have at different corners and on different buildings. The light it gives is a soft one, probably because of the matte glass around it and maybe because they wanted to simulate candle light

VON_4093.jpg

VON_4102.jpg

The shoemaker's Tower. Sighișoara's towers were assigned and inhabited by different professional guilds and this one is the one that is greatly preserved

Sort:  

Awesome pictures and great article. I was born in Sighisoara and lived there utill I moved in Timisoara for college. My parents are still there. I know very well all the places you visited and captured. Sighisoara is really beautiful.

In the penultimate picture you shot "Turnul Cismarilor" (The boots maker tower). The local radio station (Radio Son) has the studio inside of this tower! Good memories for me about that place because I've worked as a Dj there for 2 years!

:) what a nice surprise to find out you are a Sighișoara citizen. I could’ve sworn you are Timișoara material :)) don’t know why.

Nice post, and splendid architecture indeed.
The more I'm reading about Romania, the more I'm fascinated by the (unknown yet for me) country. I'm currently following four Romanian photographers and the stories give me a glimpse of the country. And recently in the Balkan Ghosts I'm reading, I started the chapter about Romania, which gives me another layer of history (quite violent and tragic),
and other point of view.

Balkan ghosts? I have to google that or you’ll give me a link man? 😬 Sound intriguing.
Look! I visited Krakow so consider open the invitation to visit either Sighișoara or Cluj in order to be on the same level of exploration :)) I didn’t go Warsaw yet so I can’t say go to Bucharest!

Balkan Ghosts - not the most impartial book, but first I've read on the subject of Balkans.
I'm up for visiting Sighișoara, Cluj or even better - whole Transilvania and Maramures, I'd probably do it now if I had a car or driving license. Without it it's a bit harder to plan such a trip.
If you like old buildings - Lublin seems better choice than Warsaw ;) Maybe it's not the most lively city outside the centre, but its' Old Town is dating back to XVI century.

U can rent for virtually nothing but no driving without licence, unfortunately :( Lublin is a little too North for me. I travel by car 99% of the time and getting to Cracow wasn’t fun. I wait for the Hungarians and you to connect better with Slovakia in terms of highways and then I’ll venture North. I have available time but the person I’m travelling with is stuck with limited free days so i can’t afford the luxury to have more than friday to next sunday which translates to Ploiesti - Cracow and back already 4 days. 2 if I want to ruint myself.
I’ll check the book out though the reviews are not good in terms if impartiallity, you’re right. Though it’s interesting to read this kind of books knowing prior about their impartiallity :)

Superi tari fotografiile! Avem locuri foarte frumoase in tara asta! Bravo!

Și oamenii sunt mai mișto. Numai dacă am reuși să ne organizăm... 😫

Peste tot in Nordul țării sunt oameni mișto! Exact


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46