Crna Gora, Montenegro, Black Mountain or whatever you like to call it: My Family Heritage 🇲🇪steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

I’m in Montenegro at the moment. When I was little I used to spend a lot of time here. My parents got a house here and we used to pack up the car (well literally stack up from bottom till top) every single summer and drive all the way from the Netherlands to Montenegro. We would drive to Italy and then take the boat from Bari to Bar (Montenegro). The boat ride usually took about 10 hours, the longest 10 hours of my life as I used to get sea sick and there were cockroaches crawling all over the place. At one point we didn't take the boat anymore, no idea why, but we would drive through Germany, Austria, Hungary and Serbia. It would take about two days with a pit stop somewhere in Austria. But then when I got older and puberty kicked in, I didn’t want to waist my summers on family holidays so I decided to skip it for several years in a row and hang out with friends and boyfriends (ha those boyfriends days..)

But times changed. As I got older I actually got to appreciate my family much more, and my parents in particular, and now I visit them several times a year. My parents moved to Montenegro 2,5 years ago as soon as they retired, I’m actually not really sure if the term 'moved' applies here as they keep rotating between the Netherlands, Serbia and Montenegro but hey whatever, lets say that they spend most of their time abroad. However, since they moved I got this weird urge to keep visiting them opposed to when they used to live in the Netherlands and I would barely visit them as they bothered the shit out of me (sorry mom and dad). Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I stayed behind alone, obv I’ve got my friends and all and to be honest they always felt more like family than my actual family, but still it triggered something within me. I guess we were now all divided as my sister also moved to Switzerland (that was way back in 2000) but that’s a story for another time.

Before I get carried away too much into telling you guys my whole life story in one post, there’s some pics I want to share with all of you. Unfortunately I did't bring my Nikon but I guess an Iphone will do.. I've been here for 1,5 week now and I can tell you the weather is absolutely crazy. I've never been this time of year but it basically rains every day. Usually it's sunny in the mornings and I use these rare moments to take a long stroll along the coastline with my dad ending end up in cafe Forest where my dad nips his Loza and I drink a cup of camomile tea. The rain showers usually start in the evening and during the night lightning and thunder take over.

I made some pretty cool pics in November of the area my dads family's from, I will upload them as soon I get home as they're on my USB cuz I really want to share it with you.. Hope you guys enjoyed this little sneak peak of Montenegro though!

Love,
Vla

Sort:  

Hey, such a great travel story ;) Hope you are going take a look at my traveling experience @kamile

Thanks girl! ✨
Yesss def gonna check out your travel experiences!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61784.55
ETH 3389.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52