Sort:  

Let's see.

US is by far the toughest to prep, especially if you are self-employed like me but I'm generally good with interviews so I've managed two of them just fine. Fancy ties and jackets don't guarantee anything. I went in casual wear both times. Confidence and clarity matters a lot more. The first was harder because I was young and they didn't give me a long term visa, just 1 year. 2nd time was easier and they gave me 10 years. The first was invite based, and the 2nd was not, applied straight forward.

It's easier if you can procure an invite to visit from family/friends living in US and if you can establish strong and as many connections in India and show you will return after your trip. Give specific dates and be honest. The interviewers are excellent at reading people and body language. They record all data of past trips or visa applications. They will ask questions regarding your trip, why, who, what, how, where, when, for how long, why this much time, what you'll do, all kinds of imaginable questions may be asked-google will get you these questions. You must always prep for these things in advance.

My first interview they asked questions for 20 mins or so. Second time I got it within 4-5 mins and a LOT fewer questions.

I carried a shit ton of docs and clear financial history, ties to India etc and nothing was asked. Not a single document.

Sincere advise to new travellers is to travel to SE Asian countries (not Nepal/Bhutan) and build up some real travel history, visa stamps, score one EU travel if possible and then apply to US. All this is not at all necessary but is likely to help your case over a blank passport being applied for a US visa. My first visa stamp was US. If you get a US visa stamp, other countries will easily clear your case. That's a fact.

EU i've submitted all kinds of very comprehensive documents each time, but it resulted eventually in getting a very rare (im told) 5 year Schengen visa. But it has made travel all over EU effortless as I don't need to reapply for next 4.5 years.

That's really helpful. Till the date I have not visited outside India but planning this year for UK and Europe as my all maternal uncles are there and my mummy is also holding a British Passport, So in next Amy marriage occasion would love to visit London and Europe.

Thanks for advice.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.15
ETH 2613.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82