Why I love hiking and why you should too!

in #travel7 years ago

Hey steemit!

Today I just want to share one of my passion with you guys because I feel it is something more people should get into. Nowadays, most people live a sedentary life because it is so easy to get stuck in the 9 to 5 and then get home to chores, kids and tv. Well today, it is time for you to get out of the routine! I will show you why and how in this article.

2016-06-01 11.20.44.jpg

So why should you hike instead of watching Netflix on that upcoming weekend?

Hiking will give you a little feel of adventure, being with a friend in the forest or hiking to a peak so you can see something you never saw is pretty cool. It could make you discover the actual beauty of your area and make you see things you never saw. I have seen hiking turning city people into hardcore nature lover.

20160525_133639.jpg

It also gives you a decompressing feeling, nothing else really matter but getting to the goal point, the peacefulness of being in nature, being away from the stressful noises of a city, all while looking at wonderful landscapes and exercising will relax and give you a peace of mind.

IMG_3085.JPG

I love hiking when I need to make important decisions as it make me see things clearly. There is nothing like grasping a breath of fresh air with no distractions other than going forward that can make me release stress and have a clear state of mind.

IMG_3102.JPG

Hiking also gets funner and funner the more you do it. You get more in shape and you get keen to keep going bigger and bigger and longer and longer the more you do it as you will feel a nice sense of accomplishment after every one of them.

IMG_3157.JPG

It is also free which makes it pretty cheap. Ha!

I can already see you saying: "But wow Vinny! So you are saying that hiking is Healthy, free, fun, will make em do exercise, will relax me, will make me see beautiful landscape and make me enjoy nature while filling my Facebook timeline with nice pictures? There must be a drawback, this is a scam right? An article filled with lies to get me to move out of my couch?"

IMG_3261.JPG

No it's not! Hiking is really all that. Okay, I know you were not going to say that but still, hiking does have all these perks at no cost and therefore, there is not really any reasons not to do it.

Now that you are convinced and really want to hike, you probably don't know where and how to start. if you live in the States and Canada, I invite you to go see that website:

https://www.alltrails.com/?ref=header

It is a website that regroups all the trails with ratings and location. So you can just type in your location, and the website will give you all the trails that are to a certain radius from you. You will also be given all the info that you need about the trail like how to access it and how hard it is. This way, you won't bring your kids with you on a nice little hike that ends up being a 4 hour nightmare in the bush.

Now for people that are not living in the States or Canada, you can probably use google and find similar websites, but I would like you to also make an account on alltrails and add your nice European discovery on the website.

So what is your first trail going to be?

20161216_130112.jpg

Sort:  

Very well said! I can agree 100% with what you are saying and can just encourage others to get out there and discover our world! Most of the time, you don't have to go far to see the beauty of our planet. You don't need to travel hundreds of kilometers! Just get out of the city and see what's there. And it just feels soooo GOOOD!

Right! Beauty is often only a few kilometers away.

Well said @vinnynomad. I love the ootdoors!!! Taking the kids for a walk on the beach or an easy trail walk through the forrest. It not only helps your own well being but instills that into the kids as well :). I think you'd appreciate my Cape Town in a day challenge so if you'd like go check it out @therneau. Cheers!!!

Hey, I went and had a look, you sure live in a nice part of the world!

Thanks @vinnynomad. Blessed indeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39