Travel with Vinny #5: Throwback to last winter dog sledding

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey steemit and dog lovers,

Today article is going to be about the times I went dog sledding. I went on two different occasions and both times were nothing less than amazing leaving me with sweet memories that I will cherish my whole life.

I was working with a company that would let me do it for pretty cheap and was able to have both times for 50$.

20160315_120751 (1).jpg

The first time I went was with a friend, as a first timer, I didn't know what to expect. Was I about to just use dogs that were treated badly by the owners or was I going to have fun with happy dogs that would willingly run around carrying my weight on a sled. I was pretty worried that it would be the first one but let me tell you, it is the latest! These dogs love running! They are super excited to go on the run and would start wiggling their tails as soon as it would just look like they will start running soon. In fact, they would run without having you on the sled . So DON'T FALL if you try it one day because they will keep running at the same speed.

When you get there, they explain you how you will ride your sled and the orders you will have to scream to get the dogs to do what you want them to do. Yes, you will be in charge of your own sled the first time you go! Don't worry it is pretty easy and straightforward.

An other thing they tell you straight away, is that some dog will love your company and some others will be more shy . It is very important that you leave the shy dogs in peace. You are NOT the exception or a dog whisperer, you approaching a shy dog can put you in a situation that neither you or the dog want to be in.

Here is a picture of Dingo, a very social dog.

20160315_120543.jpg

After everything is explained, it is time to ride! From what I learned, there is always one of the monitors at the front and one at the back of the group, so if you are having problems, there will always be someone to help you out.

The run I did was about 2 hours with a couple breaks to let the dogs catch a breath, cool down and grab a well deserved water. It also let us humans play tourist and get some nice pictures with the dogs.

20161220_140604.jpg

Overall, it is a very nice experience that I can recommend any one to try at least once in their lives. It is a very nice couples and family activity, so there is really no excuses not to go. Young children are welcome as there is a safe sitting bench on the sleds.

20161220_140456.jpg

Stay tuned for the next adventure!

edit: any one knows why my picture is not showing up as a thumbnail? I tried to move it around but nothing would work.

Sort:  

Sounds like a wonderful experience! I have never been but would really like to try it. Beautiful huskies too! I breed labs and have always been a fan of the husky breed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67