Travel Around the World for CHEAP?!? I have a Solution....

in #travel7 years ago

Have you ever wanted to spend a year, maybe longer, traveling around the world and seeing and experiencing different cultures? Well I have but there was a problem. It would just cost too much money to explore the world for a whole year or even a few months, to be honest.

Now, I am interested in learning about gardening, especially organic farming and agriculture! If you aren't into this then this may not be good for you. I came across something called WWOOF. WWOOF stands for World Wide Opportunities On Organic Farms!! I was interested so I went ahead and purchased a $40 membership to wwoofusa. This gave me the power to look at over 2,000 organic farms around the United States.

If you want to go out of the US you would have to buy a subscription to he international wwoof site. I will definitely do this in the future but since I am just starting I want to start around the USA. I cans till go to Hawaii though and I am super excited. Another reason is I don't have a passport yet so it's just easier to start in the US.

Every farm host has their own rules and would be posted in their description. I made plans to go to my first one in Florida since where I am is cold right now. I will be going in April to an Organic Blueberry Farm. The plus side is I am going right during harvest season so I will be picking blueberries for most of my work hours!! No complaints here. You can also eat them while you are picking them!!
blueberries-690072_960_720.jpg

Most hosts will exchange a place to stay and food for a certain amount of hours working on the farm. Some only require around 25-26 hours and some around 35 hours. Just make sure to read the description of the farm that you would be most comfortable at. Some provide a room in a house and some have tents outside. So if you like camping that would be great.

I can't wait to wwoof for the first time in Florida. I will definitely make posts about it! My next trip I am planning is Hawaii for around 2 months. I will be sure to take many photos during the time I am there.

This is pretty cheap, being that I am only paying for my travel expenses and I have a free place to stay and free food. Some places only feed you on the days that you work or only like 2 meals a day. So you may need to spend a little money on food and if you go out and explore the state/city you are in. But most of the food and stay is free so I think it is a great deal, especially since I am interested in learning about what I will be doing on the farm.

If you have done this before or are interested please let me know in the comments. I would love to hear your experience or if you have any questions, I will try to answer them to the best of my ability.

Other things to look out for that I will be posting are more of these What I Eat in a Days, recipes, taste tests, vegan vs non vegan items and reviews from myself and a non vegan, and much more!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37