Top Reasons to Explore Your World

in #travel7 years ago

Do you have the travel bug? I didn't grow up with the bug in me, but my love for travel was gradual. It all started with a curiosity for learning about different cultures. And this has lead me to travel to over 12 countries in which I have lived over 2 years in two of those countries. So why continue to travel? I have wrestled with this question many times as I thought traveling could be a selfish thing.

However, time and time again, when those wrestling matches with my inner self ended -- traveling has always won. I would like to share my top 5 reasons to stop couch surfing and explore this amazing world we live on.

20170505_110558.jpg

#4
Change of scenery

Just like a vacation, sometimes you just need to get away to feel refreshed. Traveling to a city or country that is very different from your own can allow you to temporarily forget about your worries. It can also be a place of inspiration! The air, feel of an area, the sounds, the smells -- if you are open, you can really become relaxed.

20160716_135245_HDR.jpg

#3
Experience some once in a lifetime moments

The world has some amazing views, food, activities, and sights that are only found in certain areas. Think about it! How often can you see natural wonders like glowing green lights of the the Aurora Borealis? Or eat things you never thought were edible like bamboo! I have so many memories that make for great stories --lasting memories for a lifetime.

20161103_162452_HDR(1).jpg

#2
Realize humans have the same basic needs

There are roughly 7.5 billion people on this planet! That's crazy! With a deeper mindset -- beyond the mindset of a tourist, I have been able to understand that people are people. Beyond cultural or ideological differences, humans have similar basic needs. Travel around and there is music, food, dance, recreation, the rich, the poor, and the list goes on. With some effort and time, it is possible to find common ground despite a mound of differences.

20170506_124851.jpg

#1
Develop as a person

Sometimes is it not cheap to travel. There can be a lot of planning and money involved. However, does that cost justify the value of the trip? This question continues to cross my mind, but ultimately it is more about what effort you put forth during that process. I am a person who strives to become better every year. How can a trip allow me to grow? Being open to new experiences and wanting to change is a must, I have learned if you want to develop. When I travel, I expect to learn something new and seek to expand my mind's limit of what "beauty" means. It has lead to a greater appreciation for travel and I am amazed more and more as I explore uncharted territories.

I hope this post has helped or intrigued you in some way. Leave a comment and let me know what you think! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56