My UP Adventure- Day 2

in #travel6 years ago

Day 2 started off overlooking the Indian Lake shoreline. The weather was unseasonably warm with temps reaching the upper 80's. We packed up camp and started our journey for the day.

As soon as we pulled out of the campground I saw a sign that was familiar to me and something I wanted to show the better half. It was Kitch-iti-kipi, also known as The Big Spring. This is the clearest most beautiful water. You can see 49ft straight to the bottom. Here are some pics.


After a short visit we hit the road. Today was my reason for the trip, a Wedding of my cousin and her husband. Off we headed, West to the Wisconsin border.

Of course we didn't make it to Iron Mountain after seeing this guy on the side of the road. We had to stop here in Norway, Michigan and take the Mine Tour.

Inside the mine was where we were headed. 2600ft into Iron Mountain. Everyone was instructed to put on a rain coat and hard hat. The outside temps were around 85 degrees, as soon as we entered the mine it was 44 degrees. It stays that temp year round and was refreshing on days like today. Much of this mine tour was on foot in the tunnels.

This room (stope) was enormous. This picture doesn't show how huge it was. The rocks you see in front of the edge are after a 100ft drop off. The rear light in this pic is 600yds away.


After the mine tour was over, we toured the rock shop. I couldn't help but think that @summertooth would be in heaven in this place. They had Michigan specific rocks along with rocks from around the world. I wasn't even able to photo all of it, but here is a good idea.

Some of the cool stuff I saw.

Huge chunk of Pyrite!

![()


After this we headed off to the wedding. Tomorrow we will look at Day 3 of this adventure. There was so much cool stuff it's hard to fit it all into these posts. I may do a post with all the videos we took along the way also. And I was able to pick up some coins along my journey. Those will also be coming up.

Hope you enjoyed my vacation so far. Stay tuned for more to come.


Proud member of #steemsilvergold.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

I am loving this trip. You are a fabulous host and tour-guide. :=)

Thanks @ronaldoavelino. The best part is yet to come.

Looks like your trip really rocked!

It really did. Wait until you see the adventure we got into the 4th day.

Really cool find there VG, looks like a lot of fun.👍

It was a great time. The best part will be coming up in my post tonight.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks @ssg-comunity for your support.

Congratulations @vgholdingsllc! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78