Collaborative insights and travel woes

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemit. You do not understand the lengths that we had to go through just to get time alone to write! Tonight, I'm going to share with you some behind the scenes photos and gifs (YES, GIFS!) from @kommienezuspadt's shoot with Inkmaster winner Ryan Ashley

Ryan's a super cool chick, really chill and a big goofball. It's weird thinking of her as anything other than Lars' childhood friend. Now, this isn't my first time assisting on a photo shoot but this particular one ran smoother than most. I'd love to share more behind the scenes footage in the future. Sometimes I forget to document events when it's madness and you've got bodies crashing into each other! 

We shot at a creepy funeral rectory. Ryan's fiancée, Josh, knew the guy that owned the place and we were given permission to shoot there on short notice. Ryan had expressed her interest in purchasing the estate when the property owner, Dan, was looking to sell. While negotiating Dan had told Ryan that he wanted to sell the place but still be able to live there. Dan was a friendly but strange fellow, kind of skittish with shifty eyes. She's given up on the place temporarily but she's still got her eyes on it. 

My first two steps into the building gave me the chills. I was given the impression that if I were to walk into a room alone and the door would shut, then I'd open the door to find myself lost. We were given a tour, Dan guiding us through each room up to the third floor. He stated that there was a fourth floor that he hasn't visited and an entire wing, which were the priests' quarters, that was closed off to us. 

We were left alone to venture, told to ask for help if we needed anything moved. You can check out @kommienezuspadt's post 'LIVE! BTS shooting w/ Inkmaster winner Ryan Ashley!' if you're interested in seeing a short tour of the estate. Each room was humid and above eighty degrees. Feeling bad for the two that were starting to gloss over, I chose to wander alone to find tissues. Yes, I was scared and I did not stop to look into any old photographs or mirrors.

We returned back to Ryan's place to hang out with all of her fur babies before a much needed nap. Here's Pia! I'd love to get one of these guys. Sphinx cats are so cool looking and super affectionate! 

So far this shoot with Ryan has been the best thing that's happened for us on the trip. We've ran into a lot of issues and the family continues to pull us away from the things that we enjoy. I want to continue to visit our favorite coffee shop and maybe take a nature walk but that doesn't seem to be an option. We were promised a car to use temporarily, which ended up being unavailable. So here we are on vacation stuck indoors, unable to explore. I'm having a hard time being in this area and I'm missing Minneapolis. 

Thanks for sticking around to reading about my travels so far! I'm working on a few sketches and musings so keep a look out and follow me @vermillionfox! ✌

Sort:  

woah that place looks scary to :P Great blog!

Thank you! Yeah,It was so scary! It smelled old and moldy inside.

Awesome style. Hail Mary. Cat Woman's sister for sure. I love these photos. I love the actual cat too. The tattoo model woman is probably a ninja too. Jump out the window and join the Justice League. She can be a new super hero. Maybe Tattoo Woman. Maybe Gypsy Girl.

It was really fun taking these photos and making the videos! Yeah, Pia's an awesome cat and Ryan has a cool look. I'm sure she'd love hearing that she looks like a super hero.

Cool to see the gifs, thanks for sharing. Looks like cool building but 80 and humid is a bit much :) good work came out of it though!

The heat sucked! We were so rushed that we didn't even think about getting waters. The gifs were awesome to make since no one watches my videos. Thanks for stopping by and checking out this post. :)

Thanks for this behind-the-scene insight @vermillionfox. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

Thanks @photo-trail for the upvote and resteem! A linked photo in the feature is fine by me!

The photoshoot looked fun and the house you got for the shoot is BEAUTIFUL, I would like to do a shoot in a place like that :D and also I hope you can get a car to explore the place or at least I hope time flyes by so you don't miss Minneapolis too much :)

This location was really fun to work in! We actually got a car that we can use today so that worked out wonderfully. I was also able to relax and draw so I'm more cheerful now! :D

Im glad your cheerful now 😃

Cool set! Nothing a little paint and an exorcism couldn't cleanse. Only way to travel is to rent a car, relying on other people when your away from home is the worst feeling of trapped there is. Second worst had the doors locked behind you.

:( Yeah, locked doors would be terrible. There is usually have a car here that no one drives...until now. It saves us money but I agree, it's a pain to rely on others.

So impressive! I enjoyed all of the set, make-up, pictures and the story. :) You are so cool @vermillionfox

You flatter me! I'm getting home better at story telling and remind myself to take lots of pictures! Thank you! @bontonstory!

I'm not good for flattering. :) Have a good day @vermillionfox

And you as well!

SO sweet! These are wonderful vermillionfox! Love the pose with her and the cross, and the last shot with the cat. I am missing home right now too and am looking forward to getting back soon myself. Hope you can get out and about a little. Resteemed.

Thanks for the resteem, yeah it sucks being away from home. I just left New York and tomorrow I return home, finally! @kommienezuspadt will be posting finished photos of Ryan once things settle down. The photos of her with the cross are stunning!

I haven't been on steemit much the past week. So I'm just catching up on you now :)

Thanks! Yeah, I've been off the grid for the last few days and I'm also catching up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67