Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'Zagorje 43' (Part #153)

in #travel6 years ago

This is the house with chickens, from my previous post. Somehow, I managed to forget to post it. It happens... In Croatia, houses are commonly built from solid materials. Bricks or stone. People don't really use wood to build large family houses like in The States, for example. In the past wood was used way more but that was long, long ago. Weekend houses and sheds are commonly built from wood material. I think it is because "things must be made to last" part of mentality. The blue sign says "Main Street". Quite funny, eh?

Several chestnut trees grow behind the house. I love chestnuts. Street vendors roast them during winter times in Zagreb. A winter in the city wouldn't be complete without stopping to buy these, at least once. Warm and very tasty!

Next to the chestnut trees grows a quince tree. This is a rare find. You don't get to see it everywhere. It looks like pears or apples and it grows in a similar way but it doesn't have much to do with them. Don't know if you ever tried to eat quince. It has a distinctly sweet taste but needs to be cooked beforehand because otherwise, it is very hard and uneatable. It turns pink and sweet during cooking. :) I think both chestnuts and quince tree belong to the chicken guy.

If you leave it be in a sunny spot, somewhere in your kitchen, it will give a delicate fragrance to your home. Truly a wonderful fruit. But, unfortunately, one cannot just grab it and eat it off the tree.

I'm on my way. I'm leaving the chicken place, chestnuts, quince tree and moving on. The day is awesome for a ride. Still cold but not too cold. Just the way I love it.

Cheers!

Enjoy your day! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I strongly encourage all efforts leading to weeding out all of the dishonest authors.





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!


• Vote @thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I support Spinny @spinbot It is a cool bot which accepts gifts and randomly upvotes his feeders for a little less than 3$! Click on the image to join Spinny's Club on Discord:

Go Spinny!

I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

You know I've never had a chestnut and I have no idea about quince. I have had chicken and eggs before though. Do you eat the quince alone or is it normally with something else?

Really? Never ever had a chestnut? Wow. I guess they don't grow where you live? Quince must be cooked and then can be eaten as a dessert with something. Here found this page, sounds very similar to what we do here: https://www.pritikin.com/quince-fruit-fall-food Enjoy!

Looks like an apple on the inside and only 57 calories. I guess it would all depend on the taste for me.

We had a quince tree in my grandmothers house and she used to make jam of it. I can remember those nice days :) She had also chickens and I could collect fresh eggs every morning.
Nice photos and thank you for sharing your experience :)

yes, quince jam is awesome!! :)

I love quiils my grandmother doing a great jam on them. Good day

good steemit post velimir

Nice post, I might start travel posts myself with my Sljeme and Risnjak excursions :)

Do it buddy! :)

thanks for awesome article.... and its really nice post...

Lovely review and nice photos! The compote from a quince very tasty! So it should be try !

Ayvalar iyi görünüyor. Türkiye’ de, ayvalar ne kadar çok ve iyi olmuşsa bu, kışın sert geçeceğinin göstergesi şeklinde anlaşılır. Sanırım bu sene orada kış sert olacak:))

Awasome 👌 no. 2 ,3 pic .and thanks for ⚡sharing such a fabulous💕 post & + Attractive⏩ photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25