Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'Rijeka 3' (Part #130)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The forests of Gorski Kotar are the densest in Croatia. They are all over the mountains spreading in the west of the continental part of Croatia. Tourists are mostly aware of the Croatian coast, so all this beauty is still pretty hidden and quite unexposed to the mass tourism. A beautiful place to ride.

The green grass valleys surrounded by the pine woods still harbour many wild animals, including bears that are also seen in towns from time to time. Unfortunately, their numbers are decreasing. Hunting is something I'll never understand.

Where is the pleasure in brutally killing an animal for trophy without even giving it a fair chance? In the old days, it might have been a need to kill and eat an animal for the whole village to survive the winter. Nowadays, it is usually a bunch of insecure fellows equipped with expensive state of the art scoped rifles looking for kicks and excusing their vile vice with the need for "a natural balance of aggressive species". Is it so hard to grasp the very fact that human is the most aggressive and dangerous species in the whole of nature? How comes we are still so far away from: "Live and let animals live, too"?

Anyway, let's enjoy this beautiful nature without dull thoughts. If you ever decide to let go of your worries and just be in a quiet place, this would be it! :)

Enjoy your day! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I strongly encourage all efforts leading to weeding out all of the dishonest authors.





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!


• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @ausbitbank for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, the innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam


The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. I work in the society's administration. Feel free to ask about it.


Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Some lovely views, as you say for many regions some of the best of countryside is never seen because it is away from the Tourist hot spots. Hunting for sport now does seem just a needless waste, and why hunt animals when there are plenty of drones around nowadays to take pot shots at if you need to shoot at something!

I haven't been in Gorski Kotar for quite some time. You just remind me I should. To make a day trip or even some over the weekend stay. There are some cheap rooms. I'll certainly think about it. 😉😊
Besides, I also never understood that hunting for hunting sake only.

Another great post velimir.
Yeah I don't really see the point in hunting unless it's animals which there are way too many of.
Like kangaroos here in Australia, then I'm for it.
If one of those suckers jumps infront of the bike it will ruin your day

That's true! The guy who was the top authority on motorcycle driving safety and wrote a bunch of books on the subject died when a deer ran in front of his bike.

Yeah I always sit under the speed limit when crusing through country roads, my brother lives our in the country and has hit many kangaroos.
I had one jump out infront of my car once, and they just come from nowhere. You can't see them coming till they're infront of you. The worst part is usually they get a fright and then stop dead in their tracks, so you gotta jam on the brakes or swerve around them.
I Imagine this would have been the same for that deer.
Ride safe bro :)

Nice Photos! Also check my Channel :)!

Beautiful pictures!!!
Will be great if you can follow me as well, as I'm planning to start writing about my travels soon.
Thanks

Nice pictures, the Gorski Kotar region is a very beautifull region

I would love to visit Croatia, I want a vacation :D

you are welcome! :)

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42