Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'The river' (Part #11)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The ride was awesome. I am present in the very moment of 'now', the only place where life actually happens. A person can dwell in that wonderful void for hours like there is no tomorrow.

In front of me is river Sava and a ferry. Among all the bridges, there is still this monument to past times. The ferryman tells me it was first build in 1943. and in front of me floats the seventh traditional ferry generation.

He tells me his job is simple, but he likes it. For him there is no stress and he cares not for daily drudgery. I find him an interesting man happy with his life.

The traditional ferry floats to the other side only by the force of the river, it has no propulsion system of any kind. It's tied to a long cord on both banks and the river slowly pushes the distance as ferryman stirs it with a long rudder.

This makes me think of a metaphor. Aren't we all just flowing, hanging by the rope and letting the life gently sway us to the other side? Some of us with a smirk, others with a smile, and some lucky ones laughing all the way.

Which one are you?

Think, because…

Life is what you make it.

©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



I'd like to extend my gratitude to people who continuously support my work.


• For good and inspiring reads on various subjects:

follow: @gavvet

• For satirical comments and deep analysis of life as well as all things connected:

@trafalgar is your man.

• For all you need to know about crypto-currencies and trading

follow: @kingscrown

• If you are lucky enough to be Australian join or support @ausbitank 's sponsorship project

@centerlink

• For crypto gambling project Steemdice where one can actually win

follow: @pharesim

BIG THANK YOU goes to all good people out there who appreciate genuine content and a lot of invested effort.


Your support is what makes things happen!



Sort:  

Really nice ,
i posted another beautiful place , check my last post, tnx

Sure I will. Always nice to read a post, my friend @mahdiyari

I am half smiling, half laughing, no smirking lol. Charon the ferryman hmm. You said it we only living in the now. not past or present but now. It's all we have.

My friend @billykeed you are so right. "Now" and laughter is all we really have. Thank you for following :)

Nice bike and the story of your small adventure!

Yes my dear @bikergirl Life consists of all those little moments, really. And long waits in-between. Thank you for reading, I'm following your ride, as well! :)

Yes it does @velimir. Thank you :)

Excellent post dear friend @velimir, here in my Province of Corrientes Argentina, there are areas that we have these means of transport.
Thank you very much for this wonderful material
have an excellent week

Thank you my buddy @jlufer , you always have kind words :)

good post like that bike ;)

thank you, I like HER, too :D hahaha

Aren't you uploading your stories on Instagram also? I've seen similar guy who are travelling world using his own motorcycles.... hope I make a right guess!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52