Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'Medvednica 3' (Part #4)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I finish my coffee and leave the cozy spot in my rear view mirror. A wide view opens as I start my descent. 13th century fortress Medvedgrad located on one of the hills overlooking Zagreb bathes in the sunshine. It was renovated to present state about 20 years ago, and is now fully open for tourist visits. There are many old legends and compelling stories about it. Love, chivalry, pride, treason, given sanctuary, taken freedom... All those have been intersecting here for almost nine centuries, but the fortress still stands.

I leave the beautiful view only to see a whole lot of downed tree roots on both sides of the road. Several years back a huge storm ravaged the area, killing more than 3000 old trees among countless younger ones. It took weeks before the road was fully cleared.

But, the nature always knows how to spring back from a hit and make itself even more beautiful than before. Young trees are growing and almost filling up the open gaps.

Everyone should be able to grow and prosper, change and evolve, just like the woods!

Life is what you make it.

©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.

Sort:  

nice bike!

Thank you!

Nice writing style and beautiful pics. Thanks for sharing ;)

Thank you so very much! As non-native speaker I am really happy to hear its readable :D

Haha. It's more than readible ;)

Very flattering of you, indeed. :)

Great stuff, man! I just did a 4000 mile trip through 15 states in the US.

There's nothing like it! Can't wait to do it again, even just going to the store!

Thank you! :)))
I had a plan to travel entire route 66 with a week stop moto gathering in Hollister and hopefully make a film about it two years back, but alas the whole deal was way tooo expensive for me. Several guys I know took the trip and they said it was the trip of their lives...

I did a portion of 66 on my bike. The whole trip was about staying off the interstate and hitting back roads I never would have otherwise.
It truly was the trip of my life as well... so far!

Yup! I believe you. Which bike did you ride?

Not a big boy like yours, mine is a simple Honda Silverwing. I bought it living in LA so I wouldn't have to shift all of the time. It's a 600cc, so i have no problem on the interstate. I have fallen in love with it. I have to admit, some people think I'm less of a biker now that I don't shift gears, but I ride the shit out of this thing, not like the dudes with their brand new boots and Harley jackets that only come out on sunny Sundays...

Hahaha we totally agree on weekend HDs and their advertisement covered gear :D
As for Silverwing, I heard it was an awesome machine and I really do like its line.

Hey those greens look like freedom! :)

They surely do! :)

Awesome pictures

Thank you, buddy!

That looks like a amazing day on the road right ? :) definitely follow and upvote ;)

Oh, I agree. An awesome day! :) Thank you!

Incredible!

Thank you! Will continue to bring good stuff :)

Can ask you about brand your motorcycle? :)

Sure. I ride VN 900 Kawasaki. (the most beautiful engine in the world) :D

I love the view from up there! Great pictures! What do you use to enhance?

Hi, Thank you! Mostly photoshop and a lot of time :D

Beautiful Country. There's a that cool cruiser again. What kind of bike is that exactly?

That is VN900 Kawasaki Cruiser (the most loved bike in the whole world) hahaha

That's a nice bike. Kawasaki makes good bikes. I did know they were "most loved" lol. Looks like it rides well, especially over those cobble stone roads.

MOST LOVED bike by ME :D (my only bike as well) hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52