My Life Today: Riding with @velimir on his motocycle around Zagreb, Croatia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


zagreb_00.png

On Saturday, May 5th 2018, we arrived in Pécs in Hungary, where my wife was born.

After several days of rest, on Thursday, May 10th, in the afternoon, I drove to Zagreb in Croatia, that is only 250 km from Pécs.

There I met Velimir (@velimir) who was kind enough to let me use his apartment for two nights.

We went to the center of the city and walked there for some time. I did not take many pictures.


zagreb_01.png
The equestrian statue of ban Josip Jelačić on Ban Jelačić Square


zagreb_02.png
Is this where Marcel Dubrovnik (@marcel.dubrovnik) lives?

Then we went it a nice vegan restaurant and had dinner, before retiring for the night.


On Friday morning, Velimir came to get me with his Kawasaki Vulcan 900 motorbike and we first went to an interesting café/restaurant in the middle of a spontaneous forest to have coffee.


zagreb_03.png

From what I understand, it is the Zagreb section of the Croatian Mountaineering Association (Hrvatski planinarski savez).


zagreb_04.png

After coffee, we rode to the town of Samobor, west of Zagreb.

In the middle of the city, there is a locomotive and two train cars. This is what remains of the railway that went from Zagreb to Samobor, but was closed in the seventies.


zagreb_05.png

A channeled creek, the Gradna, flows in the middle of Samobor. It is currently low, but as I understand, at the beginning of Spring, when the snow melts, it can be quite high.


zagreb_06.png

Near the creek, there are several trees that must be at least 300 years old.


zagreb_07.png

From the town, we could see the ruined Samobor castle.


zagreb_08.png
Samobor castle

We then took a climbing road that follows the creek. The goal was to get to a restaurant and have lunch there. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed.

The creek was very small where we stopped, as we were close to its source.


zagreb_09.png

We went back to Samobor and had lunch in a nice restaurant, where I was able to have a very good vegan lunch.
Then, we returned to Zagreb.


On Saturday morning, I went back to Pécs.

On the road, in the village of Veliki Zdenci, in Croatia, I saw six stork nests on tops of electric poles. I also saw two more in Darány, in Hungary.


zagreb_10.png


I was very happy to meet again Velimir in Zagreb. We had first met in Lisbon during SteemFest2.

I will come back to Croatia and Zagreb to have a proper touristy visit, and I am sure we will meet again, Velimir and myself.

Sort:  

Very cool that you get to make real friends from #steem.
This is powerful.

@Vcelier just know you guys were driving around my dream country. Any way i'm so glad that you guys had a good time .

It sounds like you two had a great visit. Someday I hope to be able to meet some fellow steemians. There have been so many people how have helped me along the way and it would be great to get to meet them in person. Pretty sweet that you got to go for a ride on his motorcycle. You are now officially part to of the motorcycle series.

Nice you can meet @velimir . the traveling biker.
two gentleman from adsactly, that is awesome.

Thank you for your visit! :)
Please come again when you catch time.

All best!

Thank you for your visit! :)

Thank you for your welcome.

nice to see 2 well steemians ride together on the roads of zagreb. It's always good to spend time in a nice company. Hopefully you had a lot of fun. Pics are amazing. Hopefully you will share more pics in your next visit @vcelier

Zagreb looks awesome. Looking good in the bike photos!

this Beautiful guys i wish i can see steemian in my country
Have A Great Day

You love to ride. I have liked you to ride and I have taken some historical places. It looks very nice to see them. These pictures look like me. You can take great photos. You do not have to compare your photos. It is very good to take pictures like this. Does it take you to travel only on motorcycles or to travel something else, such as Train Bus Chair? Riding a bike is the best bike to kill your ID from us, thank you very much for giving...

so vary good travel photography. thanks for @vcelier

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18