Trip to Big Basin Redwood State Park - Thursday Green - Color challenge

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Last week my family and I backpacked to the Big Basin Redwood State park in California - we were aiming for a beginner trail since this was our first hike and decided on the 3.2 mile Sempervirens trail which had a small surprise waiting for us at the end.

b1.jpg

After parking our car, we started walking to the trail..
The general landscape looked like this..

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-15 at 1.00.21 AM.jpeg

Since it is so shaded, you never get tired..

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-15 at 1.00.24 AM.jpeg

It was a bright afternoon with the sun occasionally peeping through the thick canopy of some of the tallest trees I have ever seen.

b4.jpg

I still couldn't capture the full height of the trees on camera.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-15 at 1.00.24 AM (2).jpeg

Some trees were even 2000 years old..

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-15 at 1.00.24 AM (1).jpeg

Another trail we encountered on the way..

b3.jpg

The little surprise that awaited at the end of the trail - a cute little waterfall - the Sempervirens falls

b2.jpg

If you are a lover of giant old trees towering over you, well this place has it all...

Thank you for reading!

Do Upvote, Follow and Resteem if this post interested you.
Sort:  

Amazing pictures. Love the last one.

Thank you!! :)
Keep steeming!

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

Thank you so much @traveltrail.
I really appreciate this !!! :)

HI varna amazing pics especially the one with you in it showing the size of that tree. Upvoted.

Aww thankyou @readallaboutit.. You are always so supportive.
It means a lot. :)

Only because you are so sweet. 😊 By the way I have decided to unfollow everyone - however I have bookmarked your blog and will check it manually. 👍

Now I'm really flattered!
Why unfollow everyone, if you don't mind me asking?

Varna out of the 275 followers only about 15 make an effort to support me and comment the rest are following for the sake of following. I might change things later. In a way it is an experiment. As you can see by my low rewards that I only have a few genuine supporters.

Hmmm.. yea makes sense..
Would like to know the result of the experiment...
Will wait and see..

Wow this is really great post ! I love this big tree :)

Thankyou so much..
I am glad you liked it..

This post was upvoted by 3% from Operation Support sponsored with Whaleshares !

Wow,, thankyou Operation Support.. Made my day!!!!

You are very welcome :)

Looks like a lovely trip. Nice photos! :)

It was! There are so many other trails too.. Next we might go to Berry Creek falls trail.. Heard that one's really good..

For sure, I'll look for out for the post :P

That's encouraging.. thankyou :)

Such wonderful gigantic old trees. Beautifully photographed Varna.

I visited the Redwood forests, on a too short a holiday to CA several years ago. These trees truly are magnificent. Makes you wonder about all they have seen in their lifetime. 🙏🌿🙏

I know, right?
Some are ancient! And there was also a cross-section of a tree that was displayed near the parking lot.. You know, its diameter was over 5feet.. Imagine a tree so wide, that its width equals your height!
I wish I could have captured its beauty better on camera.. I am glad you appreciate this. Thanks @allyinspirit.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32