Update On Big Sur Dispersed Camping

in #travel6 years ago

13PAQtP - Imgur.jpg

I spoke with the Monterey Ranger District Office and they told me there are no dispersed camping spots in northern Big Sur. That patch of National Forest land I saw was apparently some administrative land. I was told that the closest dispersed camping spot in Big Sur to Monterey is Prewitt Ridge. According the the reviews on freecampsites.net it is an awesome spot. It's on my list of possible trips to make once I get a break from work and have my car in order. They also said that camping on Nacimiento-Fergusson Road is no longer allowed since the landslide. There were some reviews on Campendium for some spots there. The ranger office told me there is a $5,000 fine if they catch you camping there. Can you imagine? I don't know how they'd get anyone to pay that.

Sort:  

California is so fuckin' locked down on camping, at least along the coast. Expensive ass state.

Yep, pretty much. Instead of camping in nature, you get to camp in parking lots and on streets, haha. It'll be nice to not have to keep a low profile once I get to some real camping spots.

I have always been interested in Big Sur but it is a shame to know that there are no camping sites nearby. Thanks for the info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59149.53
ETH 2749.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29