Lick Observatory & Mt Hamilton

in #travel6 years ago

My brother was flying back from Alaska yesterday. He was supposed to fly into San Francisco but ended up flying into San Jose due to some plane problems. I drove my mom's car down there from Turlock to pick him up. The traffic coming back on all the highways I was taking was really backed up so I wanted to take a different way back. I didn't really have a lot of time to look for a route but saw route 130 that cut through and decided to try that. I didn't realize it went up over a mountain and past Lick Observatory. It was all really neat to see but definitely didn't save any driving time. There were a lot of curvy roads and overheated brakes involved, haha.

Here's the main observatory building. There was an event going on so we couldn't go in.

IMG_20180817_175553.jpg

This was inside looking at one of the other telescopes, pretty impressive how big it was.

IMG_20180817_180938.jpg

Here's the view from the top of Mt Hamilton outside the main building at Lick Observatory.

IMG_20180817_175537-PANO.jpg

Sort:  

What a fantastic view - the curvy roads sound good for some spirited driving! From the shot over the mountains it looks like a fantastic place to drive!

Definitely a sporty drive, felt like I needed a rally car, haha. Lots of good views and trails to hike on the way up as well.

It looks like a beautiful part of the world :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82