Dream Van If Money Was No Object And Build Time Was UnlimitedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

These are my personal thoughts on the ultimate van build. In reality, this wouldn't be possible anytime soon but some approximation to it could be... maybe.

Van Chassis

I would develop an open source chassis (all systems: mechanical, electrical, semiconductor, etc.) that prioritizes ease of maintenance. The drivetrain would be all electric with enough battery capacity for long range trips and for the power needs of living in the vehicle. The interior height would be enough to accommodate my 6'2" self.

A solar panel configuration sufficient to charge a significant portion of the battery pack in a reasonable time frame would be incorporated. You could go boondocking and be recharged and ready to go by the time you're ready to leave, can't beat that! So far the most solar panels packed on a class B RV or van I've seen was done by John who installed a 1740W solar array on his Rialta as shown below.

rialta_solar.jpg

That system would be undersized for the requirements so maybe some kind of satellite style fold out system could be devised, haha.

Floorplan

I'm a fan of floorplans with a back corner bed and a good desk for working at. Here are some examples of existing RVs that have floorplans that are in the ballpark of what I'd be looking to do.

Winnebago Rialta:
rialta.png

Leisure Travel Vans Serenity:
serenity.png

Winnebago Travato:
travato59g.jpg

Interior Decor

Aesthetically, I really like the Leisure Travel Vans interiors. My favorite combination is their Sierra Maple wood cabinets, clay marine vinyl ceiling and wall paneling, and false hardwood vinyl flooring as shown in their Freespirit SS Sprinter based model below:

2015_freespiritss.jpg

What do you think of my non-existent dream van?

Sort:  

No way that's an interior shot of that van. Even if it were where the hell do they store the panels en route... Dont get me wrong,It's still a badass van I'd love to have though.

No, it's a mashup. It's from a different van, just showing for the decor. The panels stay on the roof.

This is a picture of the solar set up i have on my truck/home that i converted 440watts of panel. I could get more on the roof but i have the log burner flue coming out too
20170607_181944.jpg

Hell yes! Let me know if I can help with anything.

Maybe with some woodworking for the maple cabinets.

Of course, not a problem at all. I'll work on some ideas for light-weighting.

Love it! I still want want an office space to do my work. I've found that not many of these vans pertain to that. Sure you can build it yourself, but that's just more time and money. I could definitely live in that van. Great post!

Ya, a good desk and chair would be a must for me. You could just put it where the dinette is in most of these floor plans. You're right you'd have to build it yourself, I've never seen a small van or RV with that setup that hasn't been custom built.

Looks fucking dreamy! I hope it eventually comes true for you!

ROAD TRIP!!!! Yay!

I would love a bus to convert.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21