Dispersed Camping Near Monterey Bay

in #travel7 years ago

Stealth camping has been working for the time being, but I want to try and get out of town to somewhere more rural. My car is still giving me problems so I'm hesitant to do anything too precarious until I figure out what's going on and fix it. I'm trying to find things within 30 minutes or so of the Monterey Peninsula accessible with a low ground clearance vehicle.

I called the BLM office and they told me the closest land for dispersed camping would be in the central valley at Panoche Hills, a couple hours away which is too far for me right now.

The Los Padres National Forest in Big Sur is closer depending on where you go and there are various spots for dispersed camping there. Some people have stayed at spots like Nacimiento Road but that's an hour and a half from where I am.

There is a section of National Forest near the Bixby Bridge that the Old Coast Rd goes through as shown below.

LEuivj5 - Imgur.png

From satellite data, it looks like there may be some pull offs to camp at. The Bixby Bridge is about half an hour from the Monterey Peninsula. It'll probably take a few minutes going down the Old Coast Rd from Bixby Bridge to find a spot if there are any. That's much more doable and may be my best bet for finding a relatively close spot. Let me know if you know of any other dispersed camping areas nearby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58402.42
ETH 2727.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34