10 Photos to Inspire You to Visit Croatia

in #travel6 years ago

Hey Steemians!

I’m back!
I just came back from my trip to Croatia and to summarize my whole trip, I can say, that’s the best and most satisfying trip I have ever had so far.

As I was planning for this trip, my aim was to challenge myself, while at the same time, enjoying a nice rest before starting to hustle for this semester.

I chose Croatia over Greece simply because the flight ticket was cheaper, but never have I ever regretted being there. Croatia has offered me more than what I expected and I was so glad that I had chosen Croatia as my first country to travel solo.

What completed my trip was meeting a new friend from South Korea, whom I have a lot in common with and spent 3 out of the 7 days exploring the cities with her. The whole trip was even more fun due to her presence! I did talk to her about Steemit and she seems to be interested in joining. Hopefully she will join soon and I can introduce her to you :)

If I have to choose the city I love the most, that woud be Split. With it’s good weather, calm sea and beautiful harbour, I can’t help it but to fall in love. And since I’m all about the sea, ocean and sunset, I was so satisfied to be able to experience them in Split.

The Plitvice Lake National Park was magical. I knew it would be pretty but it was more than I expected. And since I was there during off-season, there were some part where I feel like I have the whole park to myself!

Not to forget that Dubrovnik has its own charm. With the Old Town and the City Wall, it does feel like you are stuck in the 15th Century.

However, it’s a shame that I don’t get to see much of Zagreb. But even with limited time, I get to enjoy my short getaway in Croatia. :)

10 Photos to inspire you to visit Croatia.png

DQmc2H3Lgvc1aWLMBBeokhh3AkjrLpjDqsB49SqVYB7nXAy.png

DSC04077.jpg
This was taken while I was on the electric boat. There was a flock of ducks in the big lake. Looking at them, I somehow felt happy for them that they have each other and are free to go wherever they want

DSC04127.jpg
This is the Great Waterfall in Plitvice Lakes National Park. When I first arrived, the route to the waterfall was closed probably because the snow was still thivk. But as I was about to head out, I saw that it is already opened and continued my journey to see the waterfall upclose.

DSC04008.jpg
"Are we out of the woods yet?"

DSC04199.jpg
Nothing feels more relaxing then enjoying your meal at the harbour, with beautiful view.

DSC04207.jpg
This is Gregorious of Nin's statue, who fought for the right to use Croatian in liturgical services. People believe that by rubbing the statue's left big toe, it will bring good luck.

DSC04264-2.jpg
Ending the tour in Split with a beautiful sunset. Instead of going to the famous viewpoint on the Marjan Hill, we chose a less known viewpoint where we can see the sunset better.

DSC04415.jpg
From here we can see both Fort Lovrijenac and part of the City Wall. Personally, I like the view from the Fort more, simply because I can see both the sea and the City Wall better.

DSC04405.jpg
Stradun Street is the main street of the Old Town, Dubrovnik. Here we can find some cafes, restaurants, shops and souvenir shops.

DSC04355.jpg
It's fun to peek at the small alleys while walking along Stradun street to see what is hidden between the buildings. Most alleys have restaurants and shops too.

DSC04537.jpg
My new friend and I decided that instead of taking the cable car to the viewpoint on Mount Srd, we took the bus and walked for 10 mins. While we were on our way, we felt hungry, stopped by the road side and enjoyed our early dinner. It's something that we didn't plan but definitely enjoyed it. Who wouldn't when you have this nice view!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope you like it and if you do, do poke the upvote button!!
P/S: All pictures are taken with my Sony A6000
With Love,
Vael Riey

Sort:  

Loving your Croatia photos! I need to get myself there sooner or later.

Aww thank you! :D

Wow, the photo looks great. Thank you for the sharing and now I know bit about croatia.

Thank you :)

You welcome. My pleasure.

Good photos. I like its @vaelriey

thank you :)

Lovely pictures of Croatia @vaelriey. Makes me wanna drop everything and fly there right now 🤣. Can you write about your itinerary and budget please?

Aww thank you 😊
I did write about my itinerary in my previous post. Do check it out. Where as for the budget, i will try to write ☺️

Thanks for sharing your Croatia travel blog and photos. Croatia always my wishlist if I travel to Europe, the problem is quite hard to get connection from other big cities in Europe.

Thank you :) Yes I think it's hard too. As for me, I had to transfer in Vienna

Had not think of from Vienna to go Croatia, thanks for the tips. Vienna is a nice place too, I just been there on last year, March. If you back to Vienna again then can consider going to Hallstatt which is absolutely excellent place to explore, around 3 hours from Vienna via train.

Cool! I havent actually been to Vienna. I just stopped by at the airport. Hopefully I will have the chance to visit Austria one day :D

Yes, you should put Vienna in your wishlist for next Europe vacation. Cheers!

Such nice photos! I submitted this to Curie! Hope this gets approved! 😀

Aaaw thank you! I'm glad you like the photos too because honestly, I am kinda proud of them 😂

Yay... very nice.. glad you made the trip and so nice to finally get to read your post... Croatia is fine.. I think Greece is overhyped...

Thank you! :D
Really? I bet it is always crowded especially Santorini. But i still wanna see it for myself 😅

Well, I believe there are high and low seasons to go to Santorini, I have a Greek friend who recommend others places to go visit.. Santorini is very beautiful but expensive (unless you are lucky like my uncle because when he was there, there was a Russian Billionaire who would buy food and drinks for everyone and expect nothing) and is more of a tourist trap.

You've posted all photos you took in Croatia?

Aaah I see.. I would love to know other places as nice as Santorini 😁
As for the photos, nope. I still have some photos but I guess it's enough for now 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84