I'm Very Lucky! Have You Ever Lost Your GoPro in the Sea? I Had, But It Returned to Me in 5 Days!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! ☀ My Steemit friends! I would like to tell you about my good fortune.

Let me tell this story in order. We bought GoPro HERO Session before our travelling to Thailand. We really wanted this camera! How can you go to your travel full of adventure without action camera we thought.

Koh Phangan. Shot on Go Pro Session

We arrived on Koh Phangan ‒ a paradise island in Gulf of Siam. One day we jumped into the water from the rock on Than Sadet beach. We jumped a few times, and then my boyfriend decided to shoot his jump.

Koh Phangan, Than Sadet beach

Koh Phangan, Than Sadet beach. Our friend is on the rock

And during the jump into the water the fastener of The Standard Frame was opened by itself! The camera could not be incorrectly secured. It wasn't detached from the stick. We tried to find the camera and dived for it. But it was so deep, and the water was cloudy. We haven't even seen the bottom of the sea.

Koh Phangan, Than Sadet beach. The Standard Frame (for HERO Session)

I love the sea, and the sea brought me much pleasure. But "The sea gives, and the sea takes away". So we have given up on trying to find GoPro and came back home.

But we couldn't get past that we lost the serviceable camera because of the cheap or maybe defective parts of The Standard Frame. We decided to write a message to GoPro support .

The subject of the message was "Disappointment". We wrote about how it happened. We wouldn't be able to share our emotions with family and friends because of what happened. Let me acknowledge the professional manner in which the Supportline conducted the informal consultations.

His answer was that typically lost cameras aren't covered under warranty as it is up to the user to ensure that everything is properly secured before and during use. But they judge each situation individually on a case by case basis because he asked to collect more information.

The photo of the remaining GoPro accessories that we had

We provided the necessary information. I still can't believe but next answer was:

"Thanks for the update, as this is a very recent purchase we will go ahead and replace the camera and standard frame for you. Please note that when jumping into water, the impact can be extreme and cause the issue you experienced. In addition to this we also note you are using a third party mount that we cannot guarantee the integrity of. Apologies for the inconvenience, please let us know if we can assist youf further in the future."

We received the package from Singapore with a new camera and Standard Frame in 5 days after the loss!

Our new GoPro Session!

I've heard stories about lost cameras were found in the sea in a few months or even a year! I hope very nice person will find our lost camera! This will be wonderful!

Sincerely yours, Natasha.

P.S. My friend suggested me to remove the first pic in the post. I changed it to another one which is more neutral.

Sort:  

Congratulations! I once lost my fishing rod in the sea, but never returned! LOL XD

Thank you!:)

This is also an incredible story as with the Thai police:)

I really can't believe this was happened with us!

So after the money returned by the police for the theft, now a new camera as well... ahahaha this is unbelievable.

I'm very lucky! I sometimes shudder to think about it:)

Faith in humanity has been restored. There are people of great heart that does the right thing. I'm glad you've regained go pro.

Thank you! The world is full of nice people! :)

Are you miracles happen )
Friends , you are amazing people and wonderful place with you the situation

Thank you so much 🙏

very generous of gopro... hope someone deserving finds your camera...

I sincerely hope so :)

There are still some really good people in this world--so happy this turned out well for you! BTW--looks like you had a GREAT time!

Those were good times! And now it can not be any other way!) Thank you 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44