Answer to the biggest question of life is quite simple and I found it in a Buddhist Temple!

in #travel8 years ago

Buddhist temples have always attracted me, they have the ability to calm my mind as soon as I set foot on them. Apart from them their customs of spinning wheels and incense burning add even more their charm. Recently I came across another new custom at a Buddhist Temple and it has left me with a very simple yet very important lesson.

I was visiting the Kek Lok Soi Temple on the Malaysian island of Penang. Inside the temple there was a tree like structure with a many ribbons of different colours hanging on it. Next to it was a box with different ribbons and significance of the ribbon written under each colour.

Here's the picture of the tree.

Here are all the ribbons

Now look closer and see which colour is appearing the least.

Do you also think it's sky blue? then look what it stands for.

This was a eureka moment for me, it made me realise that when we focus on the daily life goals we loose sight of the ultimate goal. We think a success career is of utmost importance and thus are ready to compromise with our health.
We think companionship is a necessity and are ready to be in an abusive relationship. But what we really want for us is happiness. It's that simple, we should always look at the bigger when we make choice in life and that is what do we eventually want?

For more of my work please follow me @unrealisback

Sort:  

There is a temple near me that I always want to visit based on just pure visual reasons, it is really a beautiful place, I am always afraid I would be offending something spiritual if I am going there not for the purposes it was intended. Beautiful pictures, makes me want to go to one pretty bad.

Thanks! Yes the visual appeal of it is what attracts me too. It's colourful still not loud.

Followed you, keep me updated :) perhaps you could follow me?

what a great message you found. This is also a very interesting temple, and probably the most important Buddhist temple in otherwise what is predominantly Islamic Malaysia. It has an interesting mix of Thai/Burmese and Malay styles. I visited about 8 years ago, but alas did not find enlightenment :)

@bigsambucca keep looking for your Bodhi tree and you shall find enlightenment!

It's so obvious, yet I did not notice it at first. Powerful post !

yes it's so simple yet missed by us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69