Sort:  

Great question! No, I don't. I would join another community at some point for sure. I would recommend the experience to anyone. You can't really know yourself until you live in a situation where you have no obligations to anyone, you feel no judgement from anyone around you, you're literally curating your life to what you want it to be. It was pretty cleansing for me anyway. I wouldn't be who I am without the experience.

That said, I would also say that it's one of those things where you begin to come to the realization that it's an all or nothing scenario. If you live without money, you are facing a life without money. If you live WITH money, you are trading personal freedom for the money you use to live the life you want to live. That said, my situation haas changed and I have children and responsibilities and I want them to have the opportunity to do anything they could possibly want in life. So the way I apply what I've learned in the present is that I am no longer complacent with settling for a job, and no longer complacent with a set salary or lifestyle. I want to be able to pick up and go and do and see anything at any time so I'm finding any way possible to achieve that through money. I definitely swung way way in the opposite direction to what I was 7 years ago, but I also believe I would not be nearly so driven had I not experienced life in that extreme environment and gained that perspective.

I have visited different kinds of communities, some more off the grid than others. I notice quite a few homesteaders on Steemit as well. You may find you do not have to give anything up. I would like to live at least partly off the grid one day; it is a little scary depending on it to much. One solar pulse and our infrastructure could be considerably damaged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50