Not sure whether to travel or work?

in #travel7 years ago

Upon finishing university my friend and I decided that we were going to travel around South East Asia for 4 months, allowing a month in 4 countries. We set off with no real plans or travel experience between us and had a whirlwind of a time. I just wanted to keep on discovering new places!

However, upon returning home I was hit with a sudden realisation that I now have a large student loan and need to find some way to pay this off. 16608691510_9a703bdb41_o.jpg
So with my realisation I set out attempting to find a job within my field of study and very quickly discovered the modern day paradox; this is an entry level position, but you require 2 years experience to be eligible for the job. I searched throughout New Zealand (NZ) looking for any opportunities to get experience or for work, but due to the size of NZ was unsuccessful. I managed to find some general work around my home town picking up jobs here and there earning smaller amounts of money. After a few months of this I decided it was enough and booked a one-way plane ticket to San Francisco spontaneously with the goal of going over for work and experience.
San-Francisco.jpg
I arrived in San Francisco a few weeks later and found that this was the way to go! A new city and country allowed for a whole new range of opportunities and experiences. I was able to find an internship and work within a few days of applying for jobs and contacting people and all this was being done while I felt like I was still travelling!

I believe that by moving to other cities (especially in a foreign country) provides that travelling feeling and also opens many new doors. Of course research should be done beforehand to see what city would suit your needs best. With all the new sights and sounds you are always taking in more and more sights and experiences. When you move you can set out with a sense of freedom as, usually, no one knows who you are, and you have a desire to get out and make new friends and see what you can make of yourself.If this sounds like any kind of viable option for you I would absolutely recommend putting in some research.

I have put below 5 key points to factor in when tossing up moving city:

Key Factors

  1. What is the cost of living where you currently are vs. where you want to go
  2. How likely is it you can find the job you want where you are/want to move to
  3. What activities can you find at a new city that you want to do
  4. Start up living expenses
  5. Does my visa allow me to live in a certain place for an extended or shorter period of time

I myself took the plunge and have no regrets.
I was able to work within my field of study, due to the increased opportunities, and save money and discover San Francisco and all that it had to offer and more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68804.78
ETH 3766.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49